Chevron Left
Zurück zu Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know von University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
1,175 Bewertungen
287 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Top-Bewertungen

ZM

Jul 18, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

PC

Mar 05, 2018

This course was alot more educational then I thought it would be but now I compare what has shaped me in in life to creep deformation. I especially loved the lecture " a play on good and evil".

Filtern nach:

251 - 275 von 279 Bewertungen für Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

von Dubba s

Apr 19, 2017

firts of all,i thank sir james F.shackel ford.

von Rajani K

Nov 24, 2019

really good course, but a lack of info

von Robert M

Sep 12, 2019

Good overall view of materials science

von Paolo S

Dec 18, 2015

Easy introduction to material science.

von ErcanTURK

Jan 29, 2017

The course was amazing, and fruitful.

von Pranish B

Sep 15, 2019

More technical details can be added.

von 李一凡

Jul 26, 2017

useful course and brillant professor

von ANANT R

Jun 02, 2017

it was a nice and interactive course

von Khushal s

Oct 12, 2019

nice and informative

von Abhishek T

Mar 16, 2016

Very Helpful Course

von Hemant R

Jun 17, 2019

The course conten

von Rishi M

Jun 03, 2017

Good course

von Kamakhya P M

Dec 14, 2017

good

von rakesh k

Jun 13, 2017

good

von ARIVAZHAGAN S

May 05, 2019

nil

von Adam B

Jan 04, 2019

Needs a lot more context! Why why why are we learning each topic. I love all the math and the depth, but just say why we are learning each thing first!

How about modeling each of the 10 things after a historical case study? Like the invention of carbonated steel, vulcanized rubber, or high temperature super conductors...? The historical case will put the abstract processes into context.

von Bryan H

Dec 19, 2016

Good use of figures and graphs. I like the input of historical references to help understand the material. Lectures can be disengaging at times, the professor uses a lot of pauses which makes it hard to follow. Overall, it's a good introduction and overview to material science.

von Samet G

Nov 27, 2017

This course consists of beneficial topics for all engineers. The topics are explained in briefly and the quizes contains the relavent terms about the topics. I hope to take the new courses about material science in Coursera.Thanks UC Davis and Mr James Shackelford.

von Bhaumik U P

Dec 12, 2017

I would say that the lectures delivered by the Prof. James were not loud and clear as he was taking so many pauses in between the speech. Else, the material data illustrated was good !

von Padraig C

Jul 15, 2017

Very informative course but professor Shackleford was quite sterile and unengaging. He also tended to brush over things without explaining them

von muhamed m e

Jan 29, 2017

It's good but depend only save informations than understand it

von Anthony E S

Nov 19, 2017

Not what I thought, but a good introduction to the material.

von Frankie L

Oct 07, 2017

More in depth explanations w have was omitted.

von Kishor D S

Mar 22, 2019

Though good but less content.

von Chinmay N B

Sep 20, 2019

Basic introductory course