Chevron Left
Zurück zu Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know by University of California, Davis

4.6
1,052 Bewertungen
258 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Top-Bewertungen

ZM

Jul 18, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

SS

Jul 25, 2017

It helped me a lot to have a basic idea about different types of materials, processing and properties. I earned basic knowledge about materials and I can teach these relevant topics to students

Filtern nach:

176 - 200 of 252 Reviews for Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

von Beatriz S

Jun 05, 2019

great course!!! the professor is very good explaining concepts and extrapolating this information into practical applications in the laboratory experiments

von Firas C

Jul 13, 2019

Very Good summary of Material science , instructive and very coherent with a great way of delivering information.

von Abhilash D

Jul 17, 2019

Excellent

von Shanmuga p

Jul 27, 2019

Nice

von Mohamad D S

Aug 02, 2019

Top

von Manikandaprabu

Aug 08, 2019

Nice one and good one

von Seong E ( S

Aug 08, 2019

it is very practically good lectures for engineers to understand fundamental and practical concept in material engineering.

von Merve Ö

Aug 18, 2019

I really liked the course. The instructor was very good. He defined the subjects very clearly and then gave interesting examples. I recommend this course, especially, for electronics engineers.

von Pavel K

Apr 01, 2019

Gives good general knowledge, but it might have more live examples and demonstrations

von Khajan C L

Feb 13, 2019

It was very great experience learning through coursera.

von Kaustav M

Sep 16, 2018

Thanks for explaining the subject in very simple manner.

von DEEPAK K P

Sep 16, 2018

A nice 'refreshing the knowledge' course if you have prior idea of the subject else it is very introductory, not at all for advanced learners.

von Karunanidhi R

Oct 23, 2018

Experimental videos and detailed explanation helped to understand the subject better way

von Simon L

Oct 01, 2018

I liked the course, good fundamental knowledge.

It lacked examples, but overall it was imperative to know as an engineer

von Christopher S

Feb 28, 2017

A short course, but I did come away with a better understanding of how materials behave at a molecular/atomic level. I already had some experience with semiconductor physics and some of the basic chemistry ideas. The deformation curve helped me cement how/why torque specs are developed and used. The eutectic and eutectoid explanations were also very helpful.

von Kanishk B

Mar 13, 2017

Great Course to get an understanding of the basics of materials science

von Abhishek T

Mar 16, 2016

Very Helpful Course

von Roy M

Mar 14, 2017

I took this course as a review. I took Intro. to Materials Science 26-years ago. We used Dr. Shackelford's textbook for that class. Mat

von Ricardo A B

Dec 28, 2015

Good introductory course. It could use a little bit more presence from the responsibles though.

von Hadar G

Apr 12, 2016

Basic course that give important information for every engineer. The course material is presented in a clear way.

von amit a

Jan 15, 2016

more elabration will make the couse more exciting.thanks

von Adrian E G C

Nov 13, 2016

Fue un excelente curso, abarca una amplia gama del comportamiento y propiedades de los materiales que ayudan a entender el comportamiento y funcionamiento de estos en relación de su entorno y uso.

von Ishita B

Mar 09, 2016

Great course for refreshing your Materials Science knowledge and also for people trying to know if this is the right path of study for them....

von Khaled M A

Jan 14, 2017

Good course overall but I hoped to know more about polymers and advanced materials.

von K S S d S

Mar 27, 2018

Good review on material science for anyone with interest.