Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Data Science in Python

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Data Science in Python von University of Michigan

4.5
Sterne
21,868 Bewertungen
4,906 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top-Bewertungen

PK

May 10, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

SI

Mar 16, 2018

overall the good introductory course of python for data science but i feel it should have covered the basics in more details .specially for the ones who do not have any prior programming background .

Filtern nach:

351 - 375 von 4,831 Bewertungen für Introduction to Data Science in Python

von Daniel N

Mar 04, 2017

Great course!! I've enjoyed the assignments very much - from my part it required a a lot of individual investigation / reading through posts to find possible solutions but that's only fair since this is an intermediate course. It was a fantastic experience as the assignments felt like real projects. Thanks for everyone making this course possible! Daniel

von Mihir

Dec 26, 2016

Very comprehensive in terms of the amount of material covered and the content covered in the material. Covers a lot of model building algorithms in addition to machine learning fundamentals. Has an intuition lecture in addition to the fundamentals which helps a lot! A possible change could be to use R to demonstrate the concepts instead of Matlab/Octave.

von Phonkrit B

Jul 15, 2020

The course was very difficult at the start even though I have completed the course on 'Programming for everybody'. I felt that the content was a bit rushed and was not entirely related to the problem sets. But, I learned the most by searching for solutions on Stackoverflow. It is a difficult course to teach, and I felt that the problem sets were great.

von Ekta T

Aug 29, 2018

This course has proven to be really helpful to me. I was able to learn additional techniques and ways to use the same libraries. It helped in building core concepts and relate the statistics part to the analysis in python. The complexity level of assignments is pretty good, they challenge you and require a overall knowledge. I will highly recommend it.

von Lucas N S D

Mar 11, 2018

The course explores different ways to clear data using pandas. The assignments are challenging, since it is impossible to get to the solutions without going through lots of stackoverflow questions. The course also raises questions regarding the future of data and the problems behind the extensive use of pvalues, the p-hacking problem. Very interesting!

von Keyla B

Sep 23, 2019

This course requires a lot of extra research using the Pandas' documentation and Stack Overflow in order to past the tests, which are very well designed to gained the most important skills. At first I felt this course was very demanding but as I moved forward to the second and third course of the specialization, I realized how much I learned from it.

von Brandon H

Nov 23, 2016

This course wasn't quite the cakewalk I was expecting it to be, which is perfectly fine! I definitely would recommend this course for anyone looking to pursue data science/machine learning professionally. I learned a lot of skills that employers look for, and have applied the things I've learned here in other course work as well. 5/5 would recommend.

von Siddharth D

Aug 14, 2020

This is the best course and will make sure you learn pandas, the quintessential tool for data analysis in python. The professor teaches almost nothing, lectures are very thin. He picks you and drops in you in the ocean, now either you will learn how to swim or you will quit the course. Not an easy course, and requires a lot of work from the learner.

von Tianrong W

Aug 03, 2019

Please give us clearer instructions and definition of terms for each project. I don't want to waste time on understanding questions. Besides, it will be great if you can give us more hints on which functions to use, for each question. Because from my experience I find that reading hight quality codes is the best way to learn a language! Thank you.

von Jim L

Jan 29, 2019

For the non-programmer, this will take quite a bit longer than you would expect. Very detailed though and the forums provide a lot of help, fortunately since enough people are taking this course to make community feedback useful. A few of the instructors are helpful in discussion forums as well, although sadly not all of them are equally helpful.

von Alper K

Jul 22, 2020

Even though it was harder than what I expected for an introduction course (actually it says this course requires some previous knowledge and it is an intermediate level course, i just didn't see it), i really liked it. Assignments were very good and they made me learn a lot of things. However, course lecture could be a little bit more explanatory.

von Izabella J

Aug 21, 2017

Great course. Quite challenging, but the videos gives a lot of informations, so to solve assignments you need only a little of your own research. But you need a lot of your own work in understanding what's going on. Good course, it's not exactly the beginners level, rather beginners +, but after the course you are able to do something on yourself.

von Jerry S

Mar 06, 2017

This course is very challenging but worthwhile. Having experiences in data analysis with python, I still feel the assignments are really hard to complete. BUT it is really worthwhile, and I improved my skills in python A LOT! The auto-graded system is AWESOME! I sincerely recommend this course and really appreciate the work of the teaching staff!

von Pawan P S

Apr 30, 2020

it was a exceptionally remarkable course for anyone who wishes to persue in the field of Data Science in Python Language. Got a headstart for myself also, and hope that it will lay the proper foundations for my career to become a sucessful one and will also grant me with knowlege in my field!

I WILL DEFINITELY COMPLETE THE WHOLE SPECIALIZATION!

von Timothy M

Mar 08, 2018

This was an outstanding course. It was a great introduction to pandas, and also some good exposure to data science. The homework via jupiter notebook was a great way to practice the new skills, and the auto grader is informative and helpful about submission mistakes. The forum is very well maintained by the staff. Thanks U-mich!

von Luo M

Jul 26, 2017

Very well constructed course. Admittedly, there is a pretty big gap between the content in the lecture and what is needed to finish the programming assignment. However, I think this is by design to help learners understand the content better and to seek solutions outside classroom. Highly recommended for anyone interested in data science.

von Ramya K

Jan 21, 2019

While this is not an easy course for beginners to python programming, I found it enormously helpful. You'll need to consult other resources to solve the assignments but that was the best part of the course. The assignments taught me much more than just the lectures. Dr. Brooks is a little too fast but you'll adapt tot he pace eventually.

von Tim W

Feb 06, 2017

Very rewarding course. As many others have mentioned, the learning curve in the assignments is steep and the time estimate of 4 hours/week is unrealistically short. It took me about three days of full-time work to finish the course. Great into to working with data structures in pandas, data cleaning and basic statistical tests in python.

von ANIRBAN P D

Feb 18, 2019

The explanation of the pandas library was a bit fast in my opinion, but apart from that, the instructor was clear in explaining the usage of the library and its application. A great course overall. I would suggest that a basic understanding of the pandas library would be useful before attempting this course although it is not necessary.

von Faizal A

Jan 25, 2018

I went into the course expecting the course would be a breeze. Boy! I was wrong. The course start easy on you in the beginning. Week 3 and i'm starting to feel the heat. Books and stackoverflow was my best friend going through this. Thanks for the great course. Teach me a lot of new tricks. Don't be fooled by the word "Introduction to".

von Juan R C C

Jun 21, 2017

It's a very interesting course. very recommended for who wants to acquire Data Science fundamentals using a powerful tool like Python. For who hasn't previous experience with Python it's required an additional time to review examples and docs in the python communities but all assignments are meaningful and the effort has a good payback.

von Ryan B

Feb 04, 2017

The duration of the course (4 weeks) was ideal. It was manageable as a part time course. The tests helped me a lot to practice and learn the concepts deeply. The forums were very helpful in clarifying the questions. The video quality was great.

Many thanks for this great course which is made available online for free for all the world.

von Jonathan B S

Jan 13, 2017

Great introduction to pandas and the basics of data cleaning and preparation. The video lectures are great and the optional readings are interesting. I had a blast working on the assignments and learned quite a bit. I would recommend this as a good starting point to anyone looking to learn how to use python for data analysis purposes!

von Frederik W

Jan 24, 2017

The course is well structured and clarity of teaching is impressive. The assignments have a good mix of easy and progressively tougher questions that build on the syllabus and challenge you to manipulate data in your own way. I can warmly recommend this course to anyone who wants to begin manipulating and analysing data using python.

von oubouzar

Dec 27, 2016

Thank you very much for this course. I really enjoyed the level of the course. In particular the fact that a decent amount of research was needed to work on the assignment.

A few issues with the programming assignment. Especially at the beginning. I am assuming this is because this is the first version that uses jupyter notebooks.