Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Data Science in Python

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Data Science in Python von University of Michigan

4.5
Sterne
21,939 Bewertungen
4,915 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top-Bewertungen

PK

May 10, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

AU

Dec 10, 2017

Wow, this was amazing. Learned a lot (mostly thanks to stack overflow) but the course also opened my eyes to all the possibilities available out there and I feel like i'm only scratching the surface!

Filtern nach:

326 - 350 von 4,857 Bewertungen für Introduction to Data Science in Python

von chenmeng

Jun 17, 2017

Well, this course is quite good. It's obvious that the staff put a lot of effort into the course. They answered students' questions and solved problems which helped a lot. I learned basic programming skills of Python and the usage of library of Pandas. The professor gave the outline of what you need to do and the most of the work is done by yourself. Very happy to take this course!

von Shihui W

Apr 06, 2020

It is too hard as a second course after 'Python Basics', I have to admit that I search a lot of tutorial to pass the assignment. I suggest more steps by steps examples should be given in the videos and/or readings. That would be much easier to understand and digest. But, overall, I learnt a lot in this course. And I will spent more time to review the content in this course. THANKS.

von Mgle A

Feb 27, 2020

Great course! The lectures explain topics very well. The assignments were challenging - you might want to do a beginners Python course before enrolling into this course. I liked that assignments were focused on independent learning where you had to go online and look for the answers yourself. I believe this form of learning is the most efficient one. Great course, highly recommend!

von Pelumi S

Aug 06, 2020

This course is really wonderful and tasking. You'll get to know the core foundations of Data Science and useful libraries Data Scientists use to manipulate data. The assignments are very thorough and deep. Many thanks also to all the teaching assistants who were available to help, especially to Sophie Greene and also to Yusuf Ertas. I look forward to completing the specialization!

von alex s

May 24, 2017

A very clear introduction to using Pandas for handling data. The integration of Jupyter Notebooks in both the assignments and the in-lecture pop-ups was very effective. I also appreciated the balance of covering most of the material in lectures, but leaving you to track down some things for the assignments. I can only hope the next courses in this progression are this well done.

von Drew L

Jan 19, 2017

I'm an experienced data analytics professional re-skilling after being laid off. I really enjoyed this course. Professor Brooks' lectures were engaging and clear. I found the assignments to be great practice, although they were challenging for my level of programming experience.

I strongly recommend having some skill with python, particularly pandas, prior to taking this course.

von Rutamvar M

Aug 27, 2020

Great course to begin with. If you find this course to your liking you can enroll for the whole specialization. The instructor is fundamentally clear and easy to understand. Some of the codes may not make sense as of now, but I am pretty sure it will make more sense later on. I felt a little more content could be added to the videos and this would be even more easier to grasp.

von Patrick L

Apr 17, 2020

The whole course is quite demanding for me who do not need to use programming at work at all. However, it's challenging and I really feel that I have learnt something. Even the teaching staff are very helpful and the replies in the forum are very useful in completing the assignment.

The final project is a bit difficult but I hope that I could apply it in real life situation.

von Baochun L

Jul 03, 2017

After studying the course of Andrew on Machine Learning, I want to study a course , which focus on python. I once chose the Machine Learning Specification , but the course use the non open source python packages. And I tried this course. I used about 4 days to finish the 4 weeks, and get myself familiar with pandas though I have no experience on python and pandas programming.

von Shawn M

Aug 25, 2018

Great overview of Pandas and ETL using Pandas and Python.

Assignments and final project were challenging and realistic in terms of how you might use Pandas and Python in real world situations.

The auto-grading of projects can be annoying with error messages that aren't clear or accurate. If you aren't clear why an answer isn't accepted, then don't hesitate to search the forum.

von Waqar A C

May 10, 2020

It's been a phenomenal course. Highly recommended for new comers. Instructor teaching style was marvelous . Professionalism was there. Moreover course demand reasonable analytic and programming skills to do it properly quickly with proper understanding. Learnt alot of new ways of data manupulation which i have not done before. Thank You Coursera Team for making it possible

von Martin W

Jul 27, 2017

Excellent course with rich mixture of course material from useful video lectures, quizzes, links to published papers and supporting websites, book references, discussion forum and of course the interactive online assignments. I appreciated the course submission process and the ability to check and re-submit assignments. Cant wait to start the next course in the series.

von Javier B

Aug 25, 2020

Tiene cierto grado de dificultad el curso sobre todo para principiantes como fue en mi caso pero con la ayuda de los foros, repasando los videos y haciendo labor de investigación por cuenta propia y sobretodo con ayuda de Dios pude aprobar el curso y me siento muy contento y orgulloso por el logro obtenido pues el esfuerzo, tiempo y dinero invertido fue considerable.

von Linda B

May 04, 2020

This was a great course to learn Pandas and to feel capable of manipulating data in a Pandas Dataframe. The class was laid out very well with quality instruction and good examples in the jupyter notebook. The homeworks are where I learned the most as I really had to understand the material to complete them. I'm looking forward to the next class in the certificate.

von Julian O

Apr 16, 2018

Requires a tremendous amount of self-study and trial and error if you're starting from ground zero in terms of pandas knowledge, but the reward is a level of comfort and facility with pandas dataframe manipulation. Definitely a learning by doing experience. Cleaning datasets and manipulating dataframes turns out to be pretty fun once you start getting the hang of it.

von Niccolo A H

Aug 31, 2018

The course is challenging for a newcomer to Python. The instructors rely on the student's self-learning to fill in the gaps needed to solve the course assignments. It's been a great way, albeit a little stressful, way to learn. The course also does an excellent job of keeping the student grounded as to implement a high ethical standard when practicing data science.

von Shou-Chung W

Jul 06, 2018

This assignments of this course is most useful to solidify your knowledge, and ability to self-study. When in doubt, use Forum, as many students past and present have all shared your frustration and most of all everyone's learning experience, which make this course a great one! Thanks to all instructors, teaching staffs, and fellow students, you guys are wonderful!

von Maitree R

Jun 09, 2018

It's a nice course for Beginners in Python Programming and who have interest in Data Science. It requires a little dedication and lots of programming. The Discussion Forum is amazing it has everything and special thanks to the Mentors Sophie and Yusuf during the assignments. It requires lots of self-learning and a little research for every programming assignment.

von Jim

Aug 03, 2017

Python is huge. Course helps you focus and apply Python to data science.

Me? was new to Python; was novice at programming; had strong background in math and business (both helpful, but not prerequisite); read "Python for Data Analysis" by Wes Mckinney to supplement lack of programming experience -- focused on numpy and pandas chapters; frequented stack overflow

von WANWEIJIE

Nov 17, 2019

The gains from completing the assignment itself are very large, although this process is very challenging for me who are not familiar with the Python language. Thanks for the help of the teaching assistant. It is recommended that everyone participate in the discussion while studying the course and learn the contents of the discussion. It will be very rewarding.

von Dinesh V

May 03, 2017

Excellent introductory course for data analysis in Python, specifically using Pandas library.

I learnt a lot in a short time. Assignments are not easy to solve, they make you think hard, explore more on internet and on user forums, thus making you grasp the topics in depth. This is the best starter course for anyone seeking a career in Data Science using Python.

von Pedro B

Mar 24, 2019

Although I have been studying and performing data analysis as a beginner this course totally worth the time and effort put on it. Learning to clean code and use Python properly to perform efficient data analysis was quite satisfactory for me. A side dish that I loved was the relevant questions brought for the student to reflect on about ethics in Data Science.

von Brandon V

Feb 09, 2019

Excellent for anybody who has to manage large amounts of data on a daily basis. I'll admit that the first week I thought, "Whatever, I can do all of this in Excel." Once I got the hang of it, I realized the potential of this material is unmatched, and I started using Python/pandas/NumPy at our machine learning lab to help us with data acquisition and sorting.

von Armel A

Jun 15, 2017

This course helped me going deeper in the python language, especially for datascience. I learned a lot on two wonderful python librairies : numpy and pandas. The assignments were more complicated than expected but with the help of staff members and classmates I did it. A special thank to Sophie Greene whose intensive comments on the forum were very helpful.

von Alessandro D A

Mar 07, 2017

Great intro to data science and some of Python libraries for it.

The exercises can be quite difficult, especially if you expect to have all the answers given to you during the lessons. In order to solve some of them you have to search the web to find the commands you need, which I think is a good thing because it teaches an approach useful in real scenarios.