Chevron Left
Zurück zu Recruiting, Hiring, and Onboarding Employees

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Recruiting, Hiring, and Onboarding Employees by University of Minnesota

4.7
1,041 Bewertungen
226 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Finding and hiring the right people is often cited as the number one concern of businesses today. It seems we are all competing for the best and brightest workers. As you will see in our time together in the second course, a critical component of the People Manager Value Proposition is to hire talented people who enable the organization to achieve its strategic goals. This course is an introduction into the topic of recruitment, selection and onboarding. At the outset of the course we will explore the importance of linking recruitment goals with overall company strategy. We then look at a number of options to recruit and select employees both effectively and legally. Throughout the course we will examine current issues in talent acquisition, such as how companies are now leveraging social media and hiring analytics to ensure better quality hires. At the conclusion of the course, we look at how to onboard employees to promote employee commitment and engagement....

Top-Bewertungen

SB

Sep 08, 2017

It was amazing. Thoroughly enjoyed the entire bit of this course. Very interactive. Took a lot from this course. Very happy. Hoping to enroll for more courses in future. Thanks once again Coursera.

WS

May 29, 2017

This course took me longer than I wanted coz of my work but I'm proud to say I learnt a lot about on-boarding and interviewing staff. Thank you very much Amy and your team and my fellow students.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 of 230 Reviews for Recruiting, Hiring, and Onboarding Employees

von Kyros P

Jun 02, 2017

The first instructor was technically unskilled, did not understand best practices for the interface. Used "In-video quizzes" poorly, not using them to help/lead critical thinking about material, instead asked questions prior to any lecture on the topic, interrupted at weird times with things that seemed irrelevant to the lecture topic.

They did not provide any context when leading off-site to other pages that "were relevant" to the material. Often these pages were very dense, and they provided no navigational assistance making the exterior pages rather pointless in developing good HR practices by using them.

They used poor video taking/editing techniques, leaving "ums, ahs" and weird breaks with unfinished sentences between segments. Also some videos had poor audio quality, or were shot in portrait mode which left a very unprofessional impression.

Instead of creating useful digital presentations, they used very simple ones, and utilized a pen to write scribble that did not provide much value. The majority of the content they presented was fluffy and felt like it was a waste of my time.

The second instructor had better technical tools and took advantage of them to create video lectures that were professional in video and audio quality. I am not sure if the topic is ambiguous, but when compared to the first course "Preparing to Manage Human Resources" this course as a whole felt less useful, with less practical skills, theory, and thought provoking content that would lead to better management, hiring, and HR decisions.

There were some things worth learning, but overall the entire course felt like wasted time. Also, the quiz material sometimes seemed to ask things that were not discussed in the lecture, and had ambiguous formats for Q/A pairs that made choosing the correct answer unclear.

von Allison

May 17, 2017

This class is awesome and the teacher really knows her stuff. It is so much better than trying to read a whole Human Resource book to learn to apply the principles. I recommend this course.

von Erin L

Apr 07, 2017

Intro audio for each video is incredibly poor.

Early course videos have too much animation; it’s distracting.

Video 1.3.1- At 4.57 says “Certain jobs and tasks that are not value added are more easily outsourced. But critical functions that are part of the company's value chain or the critical functions that give the product or service value to the customer, should really be outsourced.” I assume that was supposed to say NOT be outsourced, otherwise it doesn’t make sense.

Lesson 1.3: the link to the IRS page isn’t hyperlinked. You have to copy and paste.

Module 1 Final Quiz: questions aren’t worded well.

Mid-lecture question pop up in the middle of sentences and sometimes even words.

Quote from video 2.2.2: “Did you know that over 90% of candidates are now using mobile technology to look for jobs?” Then the practice quiz question “What percentage of job seekers use their mobile device to search for a job once a week or more?” and the correct answer is listed at “68%”. There is no mention of 68% anywhere.

Videos often go silent for several seconds for no apparent reason. These could easily be edited out.

Week 2 quiz: Q. 6 “improve employmentoutcomes” - somebody forgot a space.

Practice quiz 3.3, Q 1: “"Tell me about a time when you made a mistake" is what type of interview question?” - Answered Behavioral, but system marked wrong (but under the answer Behavioral note says “behavioral- tell me about a time”, so obviously it actually is the right answer.

von Michelle F

Jan 16, 2017

There were some real technical problems in this course. The video sound wouldn't match up in places, and the brief questions inserted into the video would come prior to us learning the content to answer the question. In addition the quiz answers would not match up to what was learned in the video. For example, one quiz asked what type of question would "tell me about a time" be, and in the video it literally said it was a behavioral question, but that was marked wrong in the quiz. There were also several instances where the percentages taught to us were marked wrong in the quiz. This was not as high of a quality learning experience as the first course in the specialization, so I was quite disappointed. I do hope someone will go through this course and fix the inconsistencies and technical errors. Thank you.

von Erik B

Jun 28, 2016

This course seems patched together. The volume isn't consistent, even within videos. Some videos / slides are great and full of information, while others are just long periods of talking with one word or phrase on the screen and none of the information put in written form.

Some of the questions occur in multiple practice quizzes. Also, there are misspellings in the quizzes. Finally, one quiz marked a question wrong and then, in the comments, noted the answer was right.

Further, some of the videos seem to stretch out information to fill time.

von Mahmoud I E

Jul 17, 2019

It was outstanding experience taking such a course , got a lot of information and knowledge . Looking forward to taking the next course in the specialization

von Bhanupriya A

Jul 01, 2019

I loved this course and the presenters had very good knowledge of the concepts. I loved the peer assignments and the verification of work by peers. Overall a very satisfying time spent on the course and this has made me more insightful and engaged at my job. Thanks all!!

von Omar O G

Jun 30, 2019

Great content and teachers! I like the way in which it's being structured, developed and delivered. Very useful information (holistic and transversal)

von Ana P M F

Jun 18, 2019

Excelente!!!

von Julien A

Jun 08, 2019

Great class about onboarding employees and the importance of investment in your staff to obtain strong results.

von Hesham S E F

Jun 05, 2019

there is no Arabic language available with this course

von Kelsey L

Jun 03, 2019

Great content; problems with uniform volume in several videos.

von Khaled T I

Jun 02, 2019

Wonderful

von Alina C

May 28, 2019

VERY WELL EXPLAINED AND DYNAMIC

von Lisi L

May 27, 2019

I'm new on the HR world and this course is perfectly providing the base to start to work on this field. Thank you for the great opportunity you're giving to all of us! and thanks to the professionals that are teaching this course!

von Tatjana B

May 20, 2019

This course gave a good perspective how to do complete, structural and meaningful interviewing and gave me some new ideas on on-boarding. I would recommend it to anyone who performs recruiting.

von Andrea B

May 20, 2019

I loved how the teachers explained everything step by step in an easy way to understand.

von Leandro S

May 09, 2019

Production and audio/video quality is not as good as the first course in this specialization.

von Josh G

May 06, 2019

Very useful course, particularly for those who have never been involved in recruitment and hiring. I have experience in the area so some the course was about things that I was already comfortable with and knew but this doesn't detract from the fact that for beginners in the field it is very comprehensive.

von Charlene S

May 05, 2019

Excellent content. Taught by top talent. Thank you!

von Pedro C C

Apr 29, 2019

The quality of the videos and the sound is really not good. Comparing to the other courses in the series this one really puts the bar down. When the instructor starts the videos is basically impossible to hear her.

von Amit P

Apr 27, 2019

Great course. The content are very rich & insightful.

von Janet G

Apr 23, 2019

This is just awesome!! Thank you !

von OSCAR A G G

Apr 23, 2019

excelente....muy buen curso

von Mubeena

Apr 23, 2019

Wonderful Experience. !