Chevron Left
Zurück zu Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions von University of Pennsylvania

4.8
1,066 Bewertungen
274 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this first part--part one of five--you will extend your understanding of Taylor series, review limits, learn the *why* behind l'Hopital's rule, and, most importantly, learn a new language for describing growth and decay of functions: the BIG O....

Top-Bewertungen

YG

Jul 03, 2018

Very well structured for a refresher course. Thank you Professor Ghrist for your effort in putting this course together. A little additional outside research was required but well worth the effort.

RH

Dec 16, 2016

Excellent class. Prof. Ghrist has a great teaching style, and his idea to use Taylor Series first is quite effective. Many functions I have shied away from in the past are now familiar to me.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 269 Bewertungen für Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions

von 田文星

Jan 24, 2016

很好

von michael f

May 18, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Prof. Ghrist is an excellent teacher. The course was a tad bit harder than i has expected it to be, but nonetheless, i thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone who has an interest in Mathematics and calculus. It also cleared some of my concepts.

von 柳毓(Yu L

May 22, 2016

Fantastic! Changed my view of Calculus!

von 顾雪

Mar 31, 2017

good

von Eduardo d O

Aug 14, 2016

Excellent and difficult course

von Louis J C J

Jun 21, 2016

Excellent!

von 王雨嘉

Jul 19, 2016

Wonderful

von RAJATH G K

Jun 11, 2017

Its a very good course. I learnt a lot from this course...

von Chris F

Nov 05, 2017

I found this course to be very stimulating. It has been a while since I have studied Calculus. I took it a while ago and also have taught it but this is wonderful and frustrating at the same time. Some things you think you know, you need to go deeper . The use of the Taylor Series was interesting and for me different, but I see how it all comes into play and am looking forward to other sections that w ill hopefully follow.

von Henrikh K

Apr 29, 2017

Awesome course!

von Brittany B

Feb 01, 2016

What a great course! I can tell that a lot of thought and effort went into the structure and material of this course. Firstly, I liked how the first week started off with just the diagnostic test which exposed some weak areas and gave me the time I needed to review some topics that I had forgotten (like inverse trig). Secondly the lectures themselves were clear and easily digestible with lots of cool visuals to facilitate memory and understanding . Thirdly, I'm already seeing the pay-off for learning about the Taylor series first, especially when it comes to evaluating limits. Lastly, I actually had fun learning calculus which for me is a big deal since I usually have to struggle terribly to learn anything math-related. I'm looking forward to the next section.

von Jerome C

Dec 26, 2017

Great class. That is a good reminder of what might have studied in university

von Yalçın C K

May 29, 2018

This approach of defining taylor series and using them to study limits , function etc is realy a great idea:)

von Deleted A

Nov 13, 2016

From this course, i learned a lot about simple variable calculus

von roshan m

Mar 04, 2017

Awesome Course, very in dept and really fun. Love the animations

von 闫桥

Apr 02, 2016

i like it very much.

von Fernando L

Aug 15, 2017

One of the best calculus courses

von Tun L A

Apr 29, 2016

This course help me so much. So, I would link to thank U.

von ASHWANI K J

Jan 11, 2016

This course really boost up the knowledge of Calculus with depth of understanding.

The quiz of challenges were really awesome.

von Brian N A

Jun 24, 2018

I enjoyed the course, and I will be taking the other parts of it too. The problems seem well designed to expose flaws in your thinking. I still feel somewhat shaky on some topics, but I would say the overall concepts came through very well, and the journey through them was cohesive and well laid-out.

von Nirmala R

Sep 26, 2016

The visualizations were fantastic!! Loved the course.

von EDILSON S S O J

Mar 11, 2016

Amazing!!!! The best course ever!!!!!

von Adam O

Mar 29, 2017

This was very explanatory and helpful. I would recommend it to many of my friends and colleagues.

von Dmitry K

Oct 29, 2016

Very interesting and enlightening!

von Michael G D

Jan 19, 2018

Brilliant, great