Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction To Swift Programming

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction To Swift Programming von University of Toronto

3.9
Sterne
1,368 Bewertungen
363 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Introduction to Swift Programming is the first course in a four part specialization series that will provide you with the tools and skills necessary to develop an iOS App from scratch. By the end of this first course you will be able to demonstrate intermediate application of programming in Swift, the powerful new programming language for iOS. Guided by best practices you will become proficient with syntax, object oriented principles, memory management, functional concepts and more in programming with Swift. This course is unique in its dedication to teaching Swift programming. With new features and capabilities you will be at the forefront of writing iOS apps. Currently this course is taught using Swift 2. The team is aware of the release of Swift 3 and will be making edits to the course in time. Please be aware that at this time the instruction is entirely with Swift 2. Please note that to take part in this course (and the full specialization) it is required to have a Mac computer and, though not required, ideally an iPhone, iPod, or an iPad. NOTE: This course has been designed and tested (and content delivered) on a Mac. While we are aware of hacks and workarounds for running Mac in a virtual machine on windows we do not recommended a PC. We hope you have fun on this new adventure....

Top-Bewertungen

SI
13. Jan. 2016

The course seemed to be very easy, I'd say even disappointingly easy, but then, when I started the final assignment, I realized that I was wrong. And it was so much fun developing filters.

HU
30. Jan. 2016

This course, specifically the last week, really helps in gaining understanding of how the digital images are being processed on the back of a applications. Nice job tutors!

Filtern nach:

176 - 200 von 354 Bewertungen für Introduction To Swift Programming

von Mohammed R T T

4. Mai 2020

good but update course syllabus to swift 5.

von Srinivasan K R

26. Aug. 2017

An excellent option for the beginners.

von Alejandro P

10. Feb. 2017

Good course to learn the Swift basics.

von Antonio L J

16. Jan. 2017

Nice to start programming with swift.

von Maziar M A

26. Dez. 2015

A great introductory course to Swift!

von Rahul T

20. Dez. 2015

Awesome course with great explanation

von Ivan B

15. Aug. 2016

This course has good interactivity)

von Affa A

18. Juni 2016

Nice course, with rather fast pace!

von Shabda R

15. März 2016

Videos could be more comprehensive.

von 徐涌盛

13. Nov. 2017

swift version is a little outdated

von Shrey S

30. März 2017

Great Course for learning Swift

von Han M

4. Dez. 2015

Good compact introduction.

von Aleksey A

18. Jan. 2018

Needs update to swift4

von panindra

28. Sep. 2015

Awesome basic course

von Stolyarenko K

12. März 2019

Simple Base course

von Richar O C C

31. März 2017

Excellent course

von Daniel V

22. Dez. 2015

Almost great!

von Djokovic_qw

2. Aug. 2020

Out of date.

von Roman S

28. März 2017

Great intro

von Danish K

5. Dez. 2018

very Good

von 赵天琪

12. Feb. 2016

Too easy.

von Edwin J

5. Jan. 2017

Awesome!

von sourabh r

13. Jan. 2019

good

von Hikmat T

27. Okt. 2015

L

von Deleted A

15. Feb. 2016

Far less staid than some of the more traditional academic teaching formats in this science field. I was surprised I actually anaged to get through the introductory module but by the end of the course I was less inclined to want to attempt the end of module project simply because the instructions did not really provided sufficient indicators that guided newcomers to the subject of programming but in this science field it seems that is the norm with many introductory programming courses.

Maybe the people teaching have forgotten what its like to start at the beginning and recall a time when they thought surely there is a better way in which to teach this subject that makes the connection between theory and practice and the relative interconnection much like bitesize stepping stones links a more plausible and achievable option for those unfamiliar in the field of computer science. Not sure why this aspect seems to fall short in CS but for some reason it does.

I should imagine this course for many people who are either familiar with the fundamentals of programming and/or aufait with CS concepts on the whole and have already acquired the necessary basic skill set / knowledge base of programming, will find the subject and teachings rather informative and a move forward in the development of programming languages as the format in writing programs does depict a much simpler approach when compared to other languages.

Sadly, for a complete beginner to CS this, in my opinion, fails to sufficiently guide or assist newcomers in building the confidence to later embark on a project that draws on the subject topics taught thus far and to that end its a bit of a shame as it tends to dampen your enthusiasm if you are interested in the field of computer science as that lack of clarification on what aspects relate to what factors does not become clear so when faced with the daunting task of the end of module project you may find yourself non-plussed wondering which topic relates to which task in the final project?

I am sure other people will be inclined to disagree with my opinion on this but this is, after all, just my opinion, after giving the subject taster a try, the end result for me, was that the teaching methods were good as they appeared more relaxed and format was offered in a far more enjoyable way of teaching/learning a subject that, I felt, attempted to invoke or entice people where an interest in CS had been sparked and was perhaps aiming to offer a route in which to build the foundations of a programming language but then by the final week it was a case of well we have thrown this information your way, its now up to you to decipher what you need to apply to the which part of the final project and is done so under the guise of problem solving.

The latter being a plausible concept I would find perhaps more applicable later on in the specialisation as you develop knowledge/skills. But to be incorporated into the very first module of this pathway it seems doing so is, what it seems like most introductory programming courses invoke, and, is quite a leap to embark upon especially without first being offered stepping stones sufficient enough to feel certain you have adequate understanding to be able to sift through the information provided and subsequently decide upon which aspects are relevant in order to attempt to accomplish the tasks set that ultimately form to complete the final project.

Its actually through being guided by the experts whose teachings highlight to newcomers through practical visual sessions where we actually begin to learn where these interconnections link between these chunks of informational topics - all of which form the essential fundamental building blocks - and in so doing, that perhaps perceived initial 'spoon fed' approach then enables a newcomer to build sufficient skills and knowledge to then be able to actually 'develop' their confidence. Without the essential basic foundational mixture how is it possible to engage newcomers enough for them to determine when they will then feel equipped to attempt a final project? This stepping stone approach is surely the most effective way to equip a person new to a subject field so they can then broaden their knowledge base. Alas, in CS it seems the falling flat on your face so to speak is a preferential approach to learning in this field of study.

Its such a shame these highly intellectual people who create these courses forget what its like to start at the very beginning and the time it takes and guidance needed in order for a person to be able to feel like they are ready to dive in and give a topic like this a whirl. Like I said, its only my opinion but this is where the interconnection and building of the knowledge base falls short at an early stage of development.