Chevron Left
Zurück zu Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities von Lund University

4.6
Sterne
1,149 Bewertungen
403 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

How can we shape urban development towards sustainable and prosperous futures? This course will explore sustainable cities as engines for greening the economy. We place cities in the context of sustainable urban transformation and climate change. Sustainable urban transformation refers to structural transformation processes – multi-dimensional and radical change – that can effectively direct urban development towards ambitious sustainability and climate goals. We will connect the key trends of urbanization, decarbonisation and sustainability. We will examine visions, experiments and innovations in urban areas. We will look at practices (what is happening in cities at present) and opportunities (what are the possibilities for cities going forwards into the future). We bring together a collection of diverse short films and key short readings on sustainable cities as well as interactive forums and a practical assignment to create an online learning community. This course provides key examples of activities to promote sustainable cities in Scandinavia, Europe and around the world. We utilize films and reports by WWF, the Economist Intelligence Unit, ICLEI – Local Governments for Sustainability, UN-Habitat, C40 Climate Leadership Group, Arup, Sustainia, the Rockefeller Foundation, and ongoing research projects. This course is produced by Lund University in cooperation with WWF and ICLEI. It is available for free to everyone, everywhere! The International Institute for Industrial Environmental Economics (IIIEE) at Lund University is an international centre of excellence on sustainable solutions. The IIIEE is ideally suited to understand and explain the interdisciplinary issues in sustainable cities and greening the economy utilising the diverse disciplinary backgrounds of its international staff. The IIIEE has been researching and teaching on sustainable solutions since the 1990s and it has extensive international networks connecting with a variety of organizations. 5 hours/week 5 weeks duration 30 films 10 teachers...

Top-Bewertungen

SV

Sep 29, 2019

This course has been approached not just for academic purpose but also it is a moral oligation to carry forward what has been taught. I thank the authorities and faculties who have made presentations.

MB

Mar 15, 2019

Really interesting course. I recommend it for all people who want to now how are cities need to act for sustainable development of our cities, how to prevent earth from fast increasing c02 footprint.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 391 Bewertungen für Greening the Economy: Sustainable Cities

von Champo N

May 28, 2019

The Course was very enjoyable and interesting. I have learned alot and motivated to undertake similar courses.

von Ayesha S

May 25, 2019

This course is amazing. It contains so much information and practical examples. The instructors are really good. I love listening to their lectures. This course is an excellent addition to my degree. Thank You all the Professor's and Lund University for publishing this course on Coursera.

von Matthew J

Jul 26, 2019

I believe that it is crucial that more citizens take courses on these issues to help our global goal of a sustainable future. This specific course highlights a lot of ways on which we can do so.

von Nick T

Jul 12, 2019

Great beginner course, I would love to see an intermediate to advanced level course further explaining some of the specific subject matter more in depth. Fantastic work putting this together!

von AYANLOYE S O

Feb 08, 2019

A very exciting Course. I am delighted I was able to complete this course. It provides a broader understanding of urban spaces. I suggest this course for everyone.

von Mohsin A R

Jan 22, 2019

Excellent Course. It helped me a a lot in preparing my research proposal for Master Studies in City and Regional Planning.

von Oduor K K

Jan 25, 2019

Very insightful and helpful to understand environmental and energy and how these two aspects interact with urbanization.

von 曾宇翔

May 05, 2019

很棒的课程~从里面了解到很多国际上前沿的可持续城市规划理念和方案~也了解到当前在技术和规划管理层面上的主流热点和发展趋势。对于一个初学者而言也显得特别友好~一点都不晦涩难懂~特别接地气~课程也比较短~氛围也比较轻松~推荐~

von Alex M

Jan 25, 2018

This course is a bunch of overlapping, wannabe TED talk-style videos full of hippie waffle. There is very little actual content, poor structure, and you can save time and pass the quizzes using google. I really struggle to understand how this got 4.6 out of 5 on Coursera. Fake reviews?

von Lasha N

Feb 01, 2016

I was somewhat disappointed with the content of this course. It seems shallow and disintegrated to me. Its difficult to say that this course provides some practical knowledge.

von Paul K

Oct 21, 2016

This class was a very global class. It opened my eyes to the sustainable development goals and strategies that are used by a plethora of countries across the vast expanse of this planet. It opened my eyes to the timeline and years of development that certain strategies will take to meet deadlines and targets for meeting global climate change action pacts. I also learned about the workings of a city, how they can become more sustainable, and most of all, I now have a deep and passionate yearning to do action in my community, and to travel to progressive places such as Malmo or Copenhagen and see for myself and wonderful progressive European countries have created, and also other examples in Asia and Australia and across the globe. It was a exhilarating and exciting journey.

von Raoul L

Jun 19, 2018

A fun course, however there were some redundancies amongst the speakers which ofcourse is fine, however, it would have made more sense if they could have mentioned these redundancies with the purpose of getting a higher understanding of the relations between the different topics and getting a more holistic view of all these elements. I do understand this was attempted to be solved with talks of Kes, however, I felt this was a bit shortcoming as it was just in the beginnen of the vids. Secondly there are some big things happening in city sustainability e.g. emission monitoring using the global reporting initiative. How does this relate to these topics adressed in this course?

von Roisin O

Dec 17, 2019

I took this course because I wanted to elevate the thinking and opinions I had on climate change and what we can do about it. I participate in community projects but felt helpless in the bigger picture sense. This course has helped me to understand how cities can make a real difference, what kind of projects are underway and how to go about thinking of environmental issues such as consumption, waste, resilience and resource use. I see how they are tied together now and I see how collaboration is the only way we will mitigate climate change and its effects on humanity.

von Deleted A

Sep 17, 2019

The course opened my eyes on the situation with rapidly growing consequences of our actions. In many places people rarely think of the climate change, CO2 footprint and how it impacts the nature. We need to take the responsibility on that. The course showed just how scientists, universities and ordinary caring people try to address the climate change in cities, where the most effect on nature takes place. The number of solutions are presented in the course and explained well. I definitely recommend the course.

von Nicole

Nov 29, 2016

This class was a GREAT introduction to the world of sustainable cities and taught me a lot about how to work to create climate sustainable cities. I took this course to prep for grad school applications and I feel much more confident now. Especially after the results of the US Election, which will put action on climate change in jeopardy, I think it's important to be as educated as possible about sustainability challenges and how we can meet them without the help of our President.

von Anna Z

Jul 29, 2019

I really enjoyed the course. It hepled me to develop the environmental-friendly way of thinking. I think this course is just a completely necessary thing for every architector. By the way, I guess I will connect my life with these theme when I'll get older.

I also liked the way the course is managed. Quizzes made me think a lot but that's why OI remember almost every video and almost every word of the extra reading. Thank you, Lund University, for such an opportunity!

von Satyam J

Feb 14, 2017

This course was very helpful as it provided us an exposure to the current environment issues and their relation with our economy.It also recommended us to use the alternatives available and briefly described their advantages.Learning the new things from the economies around the world,their development processes and the present scenario their had been shown and explained gorgeously.Overall it was a nice experience with course era and the LUND UNIVERSITY.....;}

von 'Lanre F

Jun 25, 2019

I learnt so much in this course that is not yet in place in my country Nigeria. I took the course just to have an idea of what is happening around the world on this topic. I completed the course in less than a week. Within that one week, I saw in the news that the African Development Bank is leading discussions on sustainability and that Nigeria is involved!

Courses that put you ahead are highly recommended!

von Boyko D

Mar 12, 2020

That was my first encounter with sustainability in cities and as well as learning new things, I could understand a framework of studies about sustainability. A lot of great examples helped to visualise the problem along with solutions. I personally liked the Week 2 assignment that made me think a lot and create a kind of case study of my own interest.

Thank you for the course!

von Vanessa J

Jun 06, 2017

This course is great ! I am very interested in Sustainability and it connects to my professional industry in Architecture, however, I was a bit depressed that maybe not much was happening to change the world. This course has opened my eyes to many worldwide councils, universities and organisations that are trying to make a difference! (no matter what Mr Trump thinks!)

von claudio u

Nov 13, 2017

I would like to comment that I found this course very illustrative and that it provides a practical perspective of the initiatives that are being developed to make our urban ecological systems more sustainable and that generate more favorable environments for human development.

Thanks to Coursera for generating these learning spaces and for sharing experiences.

von Manar F E

Mar 14, 2020

I have learned a lot in this course because its content not only speaks with specialists or academics but also cares about all human beings and their role to solve many environmental problems associated with the energy caused by our uses and our daily bad habit towards the environment in which we live, so Thank you very much about this important information.

von Kithmini W

Mar 12, 2020

This course is very good motivation for me to improve my knowledge with the area of sustainable cities as a beginner level student.also the presentations are very clear,easy to understand which is really helpful to complete this successfully. Thank you all who joined this and i suggest this for every student who are interested in sustainable development.

von Alex N K

Aug 10, 2017

The course has help me understanding the close relationship between economy development and sustainability and further to plan for the future while considering the environment as par integral of cities. The experience from the scandinavian countries were the best part for my conviction to work toward greener cities and economic development.

von Brian D A

Aug 14, 2019

I enjoyed the ideas shared and the optimism of all involved. Cities are a wonderful opportunity to experiment and disrupt business as usual to promote massive possible ecological change. The course was a bit easy but made for a good flow of ideas and demonstrated several examples of how cities are tackling issues related to global warming.