Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to HTML5

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to HTML5 von University of Michigan

4.7
Sterne
23,729 Bewertungen
6,348 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Thanks to a growing number of software programs, it seems as if anyone can make a webpage. But what if you actually want to understand how the page was created? There are great textbooks and online resources for learning web design, but most of those resources require some background knowledge. This course is designed to help the novice who wants to gain confidence and knowledge. We will explore the theory (what actually happens when you click on a link on a webpage?), the practical (what do I need to know to make my own page?), and the overlooked (I have a page, what do I do now?). Throughout the course there will be a strong emphasis on adhering to syntactic standards for validation and semantic standards to promote wide accessibility for users with disabilities. The textbook we use is available online, “The Missing Link: An Introduction to Web Development and Programming” by Michael Mendez from www.opensuny.org. This course will appeal to a wide variety of people, but specifically those who would like a step-by-step description of the basics. There are no prerequisites for this course and it is assumed that students have no prior programming skills or IT experience. The course will culminate in a small final project that will require the completion of a very simple page with links and images. The focus of this course is on the basics, not appearance. You can see a sample final page at http://intro-webdesign.com/html5-plain.html. This is the first course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. Subsequent courses focus on the marketable skills of styling the page with CSS3, adding interactivity with JavaScript and enhancing the styling with responsive design. You can see a sample site for the capstone course at http://intro-webdesign.com/...

Top-Bewertungen

SC
28. Aug. 2020

This course has really alot of things to learn along with code and the most important that we miss usually is accecabilty well done mam Thank you for porviding apportunity for us to learn what is best

SP
15. Apr. 2020

This course was very interesting and helpful in the initialization of web development also the course instructor is very good she delivers her knowledge up to maximum possibilities and also motivates.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 6,262 Bewertungen für Introduction to HTML5

von Hudeyfa M Y

14. Dez. 2018

Well organized, good/clean/detail course.

von Noor R T

16. Dez. 2018

Thank you to the outstanding trainer for this wonderful course. Thank you to the staff of the Coursera platform and the scholarship staff. It was a very useful course

von C J A

12. Mai 2020

Not as expected. Not so disappointed, but at the same time, not satisfied.

I joined this course mainly because of two things :

1. Course description said it focused on beginners

2. Prof. Charles (Chuck) was one of the instructors

As I progressed, I realised that both above things were not as specified.

Yaa, it has beginner concepts, but all topics are just rushed in a hurry always telling us to try ourselves.

Really disappointed as Chuck wasn't taking this course, I came here mainly to experience his lectures.

Also as the course was offered by Michigan University, I blindly dived in. Prior to this, I have taken 3 courses offered by Michigan University, out of which 2 were taken by Chuck. I was satisfied in those 3 courses and extremely satisfied on 2 of them taken by Chuck.

Here, the main drawback I noticed is that the focus shifts away from Html5 basics to accessibility sort of topics, which was a bit weird. Also the graded quiz was poor, like they wanted us to have knowledge from nowhere. Completion of course depended on the final project, which is absolutely fine. But it's grading is completely depends on peer review, which is also kind of weird. Anyways, I wont be continuing on with this specialisation. Sorry, no offense.

von Rob G

20. Okt. 2016

I signed up to learn how to write good code, but I don't feel like I learned much. I passed the exam by writing an HTML document that was syntactically and semantically correct, but I don't know why it was more correct than what I've been doing on my own and cannot be sure I'll will write better code in the future as a result. I did learn a lot about the internet in general though. I feel like I would have learned more and paid less money taking a course somewhere else or buying a book.

von Gaurav M

25. Juni 2020

I don't recommend this course low quality content with alot of errors and typos.

von Barbara B

18. Nov. 2018

I've taken numerous HTML courses through the Internet. They were all free, so I can't complain, but I have to say that I learned so much more from this course. For example, I finally mastered the difference between coding the image (img) and link (href) tags - something I've been struggling with for a long time. I couldn't write either tag on my own; I had to copy and paste from someplace else and then tweak it to fit. I now can write it on my own because I understand the parts - something that wasn't clear before. Colleen makes the basics very clear in a way that you can really understand. I am so grateful for this class and so excited to code! I feel much more confident about my HTML skills, and that's a great feeling!! Thank you!!

von Sandeep S

13. Feb. 2021

Its a very good course. I got to know so much basic things that I never mind while developing till now. I will make use of basic but yet meaningful stuff taught in this course.

Thank you for this .

von Waqar A

19. Dez. 2018

good explanation

von S K K

16. Dez. 2018

Would be better if included more live examples

von Ritu R R

20. Dez. 2018

it is very helpful course for beginners

von Susan R

3. Mai 2016

The caliber of questions in the quizzes is quite advanced. I would be fine with that, as the challenge of writing correct html5 is a good challenge. However much of these questions were not covered in the lectures or the required and optional reading. Learning the correct html tag syntax is not intuitive--one has to be shown examples. If no examples have been covered, how can a quiz-taker be expected to create the proper tags? This strikes me as bad pedagogy.

In order to answer the questions and prepare the requested page of html tags, it became necessary for a beginner such as me to research elsewhere in order to answer the questions. In that case, I began wondering why I was taking this course, rather than just reviewing the many free html5 explanations on the Internet.

Further the very general response to the submitted page of html gives me no help when I am simply told something isn't right and I should review the lessons--again. I expected better feedback.

I found this course to be fascinating from the lecture point of view, but "abusive" in terms of quiz expectations. I was going to take the CSS3 course from the series, but now I plan on looking for this education elsewhere.

von Ezequiel.Espinoza

24. Okt. 2016

Overall a solid course that can teach almost anyone who is willing the basics of HTML, which is the basis for web design. If you are interested in Web Design or just want to know more on how webpages work and how they function, then this is the course for you. The concepts may be tricky at first, but the instructor really makes it easy to understand the wide world of HTML. She knows her stuff and provides multiple resources and software recommendations for the topics covered. The whole course is organized and it is easy to manage what you need to do. The workload is manageable but be aware that you may struggle if you are simply watching videos, as the quizzes do test your knowledge on not only the topics covered in the videos, but textbook readings as well. My only issue is that there are some sections that are not available, or have changed and have yet to be updated or removed. It's a small issue but I thought I'd mention it.

Overall though, solid course, solid instructor, and you will learn alot!

von Kara W

29. Juli 2020

I can't say enough about the instructor Colleen Van Lent . I wish she taught every course on Coursera. She's that amazing. Some people just have an extraordinary gift for teaching. The other programs on Coursera could use her expertise to be honest. I took 3 different Coursera classes this month, and the HTML5 course was the absolute star. The lectures are laid out perfectly. Colleen's expertise and personality shine through in every video, making HTML5 fun. Yes, I said FUN! Not only that, she provides excellent resources for further education and for completing assignments. Why isn't she famous?

The web design/html5 program will be the only program I wish to continue on Coursera. Why? Because it is actually effective! You feel like you are well on your way to becoming a developer.

von Heather J

27. Mai 2019

I've really enjoyed this course. It was a completely new thing for me to try and the lectures and quizzes were all very accessible. Colleen has been a great and very pleasant teacher and I would certainly like to do more.

The only thing stopping me from doing the CSS course is time, because it is so important to be able to spend time experimenting with what you've learnt. This is something that I've struggled with, but I'm hoping that in the near future, I will find time to dedicate to another course.

I look at the web in a different way now, and the people behind it - the history and ethos of the industry, I found particularly interesting.

Thank you for creating such an accessible and thorough introductory course.

von Holly S

26. Feb. 2018

The instructor is fantastic. Her videos are very easy to watch (never painfully awkward or difficult to understand), and I appreciated how personable she was for a computer science MOOC teacher. She's great at covering this material for those who have absolutely no experience with HTML. I've been working with HTML for about a year, now, but since I am self-taught, starting at square one was helpful because I learned a lot of little details I'd missed before, and I was able to connect the dots on "why" we were doing things in a certain way. My overall understanding of and confidence with HTML was definitely increased by this course.

von Monique O V

27. Nov. 2019

Colleen van Lent is an excellent teacher. Professors of all stripes, particularly those in STEM domains would do well to adopt her teaching style.

She explains concepts clearly and succinctly, and she does it without reading from a script like so many teachers on Coursera do. She speaks naturally and has a sense of humor. Her teaching style is that of a real human being sitting beside you, showing you how things work. After taking this class, I'm absolutely confident of my ability to write correct HTML5 code that is semantically correct and accessible to those with impairments or disabilities.

von Isha S

10. Juli 2020

I got to learn HTML from a very different perspective, with the focus being on accessibility, something which is not usually taught to us. I will always remember to add that point in all my future projects, to make them as user-friendly as possible.

von Praphat C

26. Sep. 2020

good session, the tutor has a good dynamic of speech, clear and easy to understand without falling asleep during my course, and appropriate knowledge of HTML, step to apply to the useful tools. thanks

von HARSHA V

9. Mai 2020

Through this Course i had learned how to create a basic web page and many more thing. I would like to thank my instructor for providing me such great material and methods to learn.

thank you madam

von pietro v

4. Nov. 2020

Useful introductory course. It makes you want to attend more advanced courses in the subject.

Very clear instructor

von SATHISH S

23. Sep. 2020

enjoyed the course. learnt a lot. beginner friendly..

von sumeet t

7. Sep. 2020

He not allow two quiz examination

von Gustavo E P

17. Dez. 2020

Excellent course!!

von Rohit S

31. Mai 2020

nice

von Ahmed H Y

31. Mai 2020

good