Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to HTML5

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to HTML5 von University of Michigan

4.7
Sterne
23,702 Bewertungen
6,344 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Thanks to a growing number of software programs, it seems as if anyone can make a webpage. But what if you actually want to understand how the page was created? There are great textbooks and online resources for learning web design, but most of those resources require some background knowledge. This course is designed to help the novice who wants to gain confidence and knowledge. We will explore the theory (what actually happens when you click on a link on a webpage?), the practical (what do I need to know to make my own page?), and the overlooked (I have a page, what do I do now?). Throughout the course there will be a strong emphasis on adhering to syntactic standards for validation and semantic standards to promote wide accessibility for users with disabilities. The textbook we use is available online, “The Missing Link: An Introduction to Web Development and Programming” by Michael Mendez from www.opensuny.org. This course will appeal to a wide variety of people, but specifically those who would like a step-by-step description of the basics. There are no prerequisites for this course and it is assumed that students have no prior programming skills or IT experience. The course will culminate in a small final project that will require the completion of a very simple page with links and images. The focus of this course is on the basics, not appearance. You can see a sample final page at http://intro-webdesign.com/html5-plain.html. This is the first course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. Subsequent courses focus on the marketable skills of styling the page with CSS3, adding interactivity with JavaScript and enhancing the styling with responsive design. You can see a sample site for the capstone course at http://intro-webdesign.com/...

Top-Bewertungen

SP
15. Apr. 2020

This course was very interesting and helpful in the initialization of web development also the course instructor is very good she delivers her knowledge up to maximum possibilities and also motivates.

AB
26. Sep. 2017

I really enjoyed everything about this course. I thought the exercises/quizzes were fair and the instructor showed me many things that will serve me well going forward. Great course, great instructor!

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 6,257 Bewertungen für Introduction to HTML5

von ANKIT G

21. Mai 2020

🤘🤘

von Shrushti P

10. Juli 2020

no

von Jessica A

21. Feb. 2021

Great course, excellent instructor. I've felt intimidated at the idea of learning HTML for many years especially during my high school and freshmen college years. But with all that's been going on around the world I thought, why not just try.

I know how I learn and what I need to learn. I need step by step lessons, down to earth explanations, visuals, and lots of practice; this course was able to provide me with all of that! While also providing me with the information I've wanted to know for years as well as with introductory HTML skills and resources that I can now use to make and publish a webpage with actual confidence, that's crazy. :D

If coding has always seemed interesting, unknown or intimidating to you, just try this course. The instructor Colleen van Lent was awesome, and her years of experience in teaching really shows.

By the way I work full time and I was able to get these courses completed in my afternoons. And you can too. Be patient, be dedicated, be focused, and be a persistent problem solver. And you will be alright.

von Amio G C

14. Sep. 2016

This is the best course for a complete beginner. The presentation of the course material is very friendly, the instructor was really great and the quizzes were perfect. The only thing I would like to suggest is adding more coding exercises. But as it stands now, it is still fantastic!

I see some people have complained about the final project auto-grader of this course. But you should know that the final project now has additional quizzes (related to the project) and even though the auto-grader sometimes makes mistakes, you can compensate that by answering the project quizzes correctly.

If you are a beginner in web development, "Introduction to HTML5" is the best start you can possibly have. Most importantly this course will give you the confidence to take more advanced courses in future.

von Ivan S V

24. Juni 2020

Excellent course on HTML5. Covers the basic tags and actually teaches you to do something. Some of the optional material helps you learn much more about the web and its history. I like the focus on semantics and accessibility. Semantics helps us to build a better internet, where machines can better understand the meaning behind our pages to build a smarter web, which will help AI and humans as well to better use the knowledge that we put out there. Accessibility in this course is always mentioned and it helps us to build a better internet for everyone, a more inclusive web.

Those two aspects, Accessibility, and semantics make this course different. I will really suggest anyone interested in learning the basics to take it. (excuse any spelling errors, English is not my primary language).

von Thoa T

26. Mai 2016

Very helpful for absolutely beginners. The content is well-organized and materials are carefully picked to provide concise, easy-to-read information for learners. Lectures are clear, well-presented, just-right informative; accompanied by the great public speaking skill of the instructor, they are hence not intimidating or boring at all. Another plus point is the instructor constantly urging learners to go beyond "the passing point" and learn more on their own, which is a very key mindset to keep up with the fast, ever-changing landscape of Information Technologies. Don't feel lost or scared, since she'll provide you with great resources for further learning and references!

von Daniel R

18. Jan. 2016

I definitely Recommend this class to anyone who wants to learn about the basics of web design, HTML5, and coding. The way this course is setup is perfect for beginners with its extremely helpful and insightful readings along with the course lecture video s. The professor has really done an amazing job of teaching and engaging students through the videos while also giving helpful resources and tips for students to venture on their own and investigate the topics further. I highly recommend to follow along, especially with the coding, when the professor suggest it. It will really help out in the long run and help you become familiar with the process.

von Heather S

28. Dez. 2015

Challenging at some points, but if you push through it is well worth the hard work and effort. Dr. van Lent seems very passionate about the topic and it shows through in the lecture and assignment videos. Even if you're already familiar with HTML4.01, this course is worth taking to quickly brush up on the changes in HTML5, as well as learning accessibility features for users who may have one or more disabilities. I learned so much in this course even though I already knew the basics of coding and HTML4.01 Strict. This course got me interested in learning more about UMich's programs and enrolling in more courses with Dr. van Lent. Highly recommend!

von Beatriz C

26. Aug. 2016

I have little to no background in programming. After this course, I feel confident in proper designing a basic web page. I never thought too much about how web pages look, now I have an appreciation for the skills and thought that go into designing a page. Dr. Colleen van Lent is a wonderful professor, explains even the most complex topic in a way that I could understand knowing nothing about html5. I felt motivated to start coding. I thought about how accesible pages need to be, and how to incorporate this into my code.

If you don't know anything about programming or are interested in web design, this course is for you.

von Pauline

5. Okt. 2017

Although I had already some html-knowledge from other courses, I enjoyed the repetition of the basics and I learned many necessary subjects for the first time (accessibility, how to put your websites online, the most frequent mistakes and how to solve them, the interesting history of html etc.).

The lecturer made a great selection of topics that give you a quick but good basic to start exploring the possibilities of html5. She taught it in a very accessible way, but it was mostly her humorous and energetic personality that kept me highly motivated throughout the course.

Many thanks to the developers of this course!

von Işınsu U

1. Feb. 2021

This is a great, great class for beginners. I knew *nothing* about coding, of any kind, before taking this class but the instructor (Dr. Colleen Van Lent) explains everything very clearly and patiently. One thing I loved about the class, is how the instructor emphasized the issues of accessibility at almost every step. In this day and age, the issue of of accessibility must be considered in all areas and Dr. Van Lent does her best to implement the idea of "making things accessible for everyone" to her class. Get ready to try coding along with her, and do some research on your own! 10/10 would recommend.

von Chandramohan K I

3. Nov. 2020

This course was just literally great. I enjoyed learning it and it also gave me a good base to build upon in the field of web development. The online lesson videos were a bit short but very informative. I was given access to lots of great online resources to further shape my overall knowledge in HTML. The quizzes were really competitive and challenging but in return I gained a lot of knowledge through this mode of teaching. I was also able to grade some peer assignments which was also something new and fun. This is a great course for anyone willing to start learning in the web development field.

von Nkem C

4. Jan. 2018

This course was amazing! Back in undergraduate, I struggled through the programming prerequisite in my Psychology program. Had to take it 3 times and hated it by the end. This course sparked a whole new interest and passion for programming that I never believed I could have. I thought, I'm not smart enough or technical enough for programming...until now. This course gave me the foundational skills I need, as well as the confidence to pursue web development (and possible app development) as a career. Thank you van Lent for presenting this material in such an approachable and incremental manner!

von Zawar W

13. Aug. 2017

I am a CS undergrad, in my first year i know a lot about programming but i was uncomfortable with even trying to make a web page that will be made how i choose it to be. With this course, i not only learned how to add content of my choice, but also adding video and audio to the page and images too! The thing that differs this course from online pages is that this course emphasizes on accessibility, i believe that is something that creates a line between those who learn by adding colors and seeing the output and one who dissects the core foundation of the product. I'm glad i took this course.

von Suparna R

31. Mai 2020

One of the best online courses on HTML5. The course syllabus was quite vivid, wide-based, and detailed, ranging from scratch to the best! Besides, the Course Instructor, Colleen van Lent was outstanding as she guided through all the hooks and corners of HTML5 and discussed even the points where students can stumble upon or make flaws! Being a beginner with zero knowledge about web designing, this course is simply a boon to rely upon! I am whole-heartedly satisfied and have gathered much confidence up till now to explore more in the domain of Web Designing. The experience was simply Great!

von Liran M

24. Jan. 2016

The good: This course really shows how to code in the 'right' way both syntax and semantics, so the theory is covered better than in other courses. There are good explanations on how to host your site, whch is not less important than learning coding.

The bad: More examples and practice are needed, it's hard to get everything so quickly. I had some initial background so i handeld that ok, but for total newbies it might be too frustrating. The final assignment should be changed imo to peer review, the quiz is not the right way to do it imo.

Thanks, learned alot.

von Randi L G

14. Juli 2020

Very well rounded and informative introductory course to HTML5. I was able to learn a lot from both a standpoint of basic knowledge and in considerations about accessibility, validation, and peer to peer interactions in coding in order to ensure that I'm able to construct the best possible code that I can as I continue practicing and improving my web development skills. Many thanks to Dr. Colleen van Lent and the staff at the University of Michigan for offering this course on Coursera. I look forward to taking the next courses in this specialization!

von Juliana S R

24. Juli 2016

This course is not about learning more, but learning better. And this will definitely leave you knowing more and better at the same time. Amazing introductory course. Straight to the point, teaches you valuable practices and guidelines to write HTML5 that not only works, but works correctly and is accessible for everyone. I recomend it not only for HTML beginners, but for anyone who likes to learn effectively.

Thank you and congratulations to the amazing Lecturer of this course and anyone that has helped putting this course together.

von V K M V D

16. Juni 2020

Great course! I enjoyed it thoroughly . Anyone who is looking forward to learn something new, can opt for this course. The quizzes and reading materials are really informative and well organized. The instructions are very clear. Well,the videos could be more elaborate about the concept but they are straight into concept.All the basics are very well covered but I feel more could be taught in the videos. The teacher seemed to be very interactive and possessed good teaching skills. Anyone who is interested can go ahead and enroll.

von Samuel A

11. Juli 2017

Very easy to follow the video guides and assignment instructions. The professor is very clear in her explanations. In fact, I found her candidness when making mistakes one of the most helpful aspects of this learning experience. While I had a background in basic HTML before taking this course, I feel like all of the content that was covered in the lessons reinforced my knowledge and I now feel more confident in my ability to look at other webpages (with the browser inspect tool) and actually understand how the page is organized.

von John P

24. Mai 2016

An excellent course by a Computer Scientist (PhD)! The course was very well presented, at a steady pace and in a lovely, clear voice (pity some courses online aren't so professionally clear).

The assessments, and especially the final one, ensure that one focuses and aims for perfect, syntactic and semantic code - which is what all developers should be striving for now. I'm very pleased that I achieved 100%! Great job, **Colleen Van Lent** ... now I'm interested in the second course in the series, "Introduction to CSS3".

von MAWIEN M M

11. Mai 2020

This was one of the best online courses I enjoyed. I am really happy with the instructor for she is not teaching for money but trying to make best web developers around the world. She is teaching to show that she can teach, I really respect her for that .

She is one of the greats!

I fully recommend this to those who are struggling on how and where to begin their journey in web development careers.

Thank you very much to Michigan University and my Instructor for course, and I can't wait to join you in the next course.

von Emily L

22. Feb. 2016

The course is clear and well-paced for someone who is beginner like me. The instructor was great. Even if you've worked with earlier versions of HTML, this is a good update to HTML5 and how to code cleanly, with good syntax. The coding along lessons are both fun and challenging, so download Sublime or a text editor right away and try things out in your first lesson if you want to get the most out of it. Overall, this was a really good course. I am excited to continue taking the rest of the Web Design certificate .

von Matthew C M

4. Nov. 2019

This course was incredible! I had the most fun learning and competing with myself to make the deadlines. The information and level of the course is exactly what I was looking for. With this information I believe it will be possible for me to continue learning about html without other courses even though I'm really looking forward to completing the 'web design for everybody' specialization as well as other specializations ( In particular courses on computer programming and other web design specializations ).

von Naushina K

21. Sep. 2019

After trying many paid and free platorms /sites I have found this one to be one of the best in terms of learning the subject matter from a complete beginners perspective. The instructor was clear, articulate, cognizant of the issues and thoughts that may be running through the head of a newbie like me, and most imortantly, passionate! I also liked how I was pointed towards different resources which I can continue to go back to, to refresh and build upon what has been learnt. Looking forward to learning more.