Chevron Left
Zurück zu An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für An Intuitive Introduction to Probability von Universität von Zürich

4.7
Sterne
961 Bewertungen
389 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will provide you with a basic, intuitive and practical introduction into Probability Theory. You will be able to learn how to apply Probability Theory in different scenarios and you will earn a "toolbox" of methods to deal with uncertainty in your daily life. The course is split in 5 modules. In each module you will first have an easy introduction into the topic, which will serve as a basis to further develop your knowledge about the topic and acquire the "tools" to deal with uncertainty. Additionally, you will have the opportunity to complete 5 exercise sessions to reflect about the content learned in each module and start applying your earned knowledge right away. The topics covered are: "Probability", "Conditional Probability", "Applications", "Random Variables", and "Normal Distribution". You will see how the modules are taught in a lively way, focusing on having an entertaining and useful learning experience! We are looking forward to see you online!...

Top-Bewertungen

NS

Sep 17, 2017

Superb course. I am very impressed with the way the faculty explained real world examples through the probability concepts. I wish we can have more courses from him on statistics and machine learning.

FR

May 21, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. The explanations are clear and, as suggested by the title, the lecturer uses intuition and daily-life examples rather than abstract and formal definitions and notations.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 389 Bewertungen für An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

von Rahul R

Jun 28, 2020

The course is an excellent start for anyone who needs an essence of probability in the most easy to understand form. I totally enjoyed the course.

von Benjamin L

Apr 26, 2017

Easy to understand, funny, straightforward, and taught in such a way that it is immediately clear as you are learning how these skills can be used in the real world. I highly recommend this course to anyone seeking to learn about the fundamentals of probability, even those who don't use the subject in their career or lives.

My only bit of criticism would be that the course relies on intermittent checks for understanding as the sole criterion for passing the course rather than longer, broader problem sets. I would love to see more in the way of rigorous exams and projects. But I suppose that's what more advanced courses are for! If this course is intended to be a gentle introduction to the broad subject with the understanding that students will follow up with more advanced coursework as necessary, they have certainly succeeded admirably at that goal.

von MD. S I

Aug 10, 2020

This course has made me fall in love with probability. Highly recommended for anyone who dislikes probability. You will end up loving probability later. Great instructor and quality lecture material.

von rims

May 17, 2019

Excellent way of teaching. Clear Explanation of the topics with to the point discussion. Diverse applications of probability covered in one course. Definitely helpful in my office / research work.

von Arundhati A A

May 25, 2018

The course explains probability and normal distribution concepts in a way it is easier to follow. And makes it further easier using usual excel function. Very well taught course! A big thank you!!

von Yoás S R G

Feb 13, 2017

I want to thank and congratulate Prof. Karl, José and all the people involved in the development of the course for this incredible series. The lectures of Karl were outstanding, very clear, direct to the point, with concrete examples to erase any doubts. The exercises with José helped me reinforce the concepts learned with Karl, not to mention the real world applications (the most enjoyable part for me), which also were very interesting and were the main reason the course got me hooked.

To be honest, I had already taken a probability course many years ago but this was definitely better. Now I realize I hadn´t fully understood key concepts until now and I´m sure that in the future I won´t forget them easily.

If anything I would suggest adding another application to the Bayes´ Theorem: Bayesian Networks for Artificial Intelligence.

Thanks again and I really really look forward to take another course on a related subject with you guys.

von Naveen G

Apr 07, 2020

I always used to run away from the probabilistic world, until I enrolled in this course. Prof. Schmedders delivered on his promises by not just giving a great foundation on probability, but also by making it fun (with a good sense of humor) and exciting (with real world applications as examples). And yes, I no more hate probability. I'd like to convey my heartfelt gratitude to Prof. Schmedders for this wonderful course. The exercise sessions were also fun. The supplementary reading material was also very interesting, and it serves as a lifetime notes. May be, a final quiz covering all the modules would be worth having in order to test ourselves.

I request Prof. Schmedders to create more courses on advanced probability as I believe he would be able to make a difference in teaching probability.

von Victoria L

May 31, 2018

Excellent course to introduce or review concepts of statistics and probability. I found the calculations of probabilities much easier to do than before starting the course and following the Excel functions. I also loved the energy and charisma of both Professor Karl and assistant Jose as well as the types of exercises (e.g. Biles Olympic performances or the probabilities to survive being hit by an asteroid). Please, please, please, do another on-line course like this one for next level statistics. I would love to learn more about Bayesian applications, for example, and through your teachings. In short, I highly recommend this course for a refresher of statistics and for learning statistics in a fun an applicable way. Cheers!

von Sushant M S

Feb 06, 2019

A very very good course for the people who fear probability section. The professor explains well from the basic as if you know nothing about the probability and that's the speciality of this course. Go for it if you are willing to gain some basic and also influential knowledge about probability. By the time I was taking this course I was a reading a book named 'The Black Swan' by Nassim Nicholas Taleb . And I tell you there were many similarities between the sayings of this professor and the author of the book. Well that might be the another reason I enjoyed this course well. After all, a very good course for the beginners who are going to take a little step further in the corporate world. Thank you.

von Sherif S A

Aug 06, 2020

As the title suggest it is an intuitive introduction and that is exactly what it delivers. I always had a problem understanding the different concepts of probability and mainly because it is usually taught in an abstract way, so I could not link the concepts to any useful application, and this is exactly what shines in this course. Every concept is introduced in a real world examples, so you really understand what these concepts are all about and suddenly it transfer from an abstract math calculation to concepts that maps to daily examples. And I specially thank professor Schmedders and Jose for the amazing work and clear explanation for every little detail.

von Dario B

Aug 25, 2017

I took a probability course almost 20 years ago, and it kinda vanished due lack of usage on my daily job. But as preparation for Data Science career path, I decided to take a refresh about it and found this course. I totally enjoyed it! Even when I may have preferred a little bit of additional theory and samples in Python (I come from CS ;-), I understand that the current format of the course reaches a much wider audience. This is one of those rare cases when abstract theory is smashed to the ground of applications, in a quite amusing way. Über-kudos for the Profr. and TA; they did an astonishing job and I hope they publish more courses in the future.

von Nishchay G A

Aug 03, 2020

A very useful course for aspirants for aspirants who are looking forward to take up courses on subjects like data science and artificial intelligence since these subjects have a lot of statistical and probabilistic approach. Prof.Karl's methodology of teaching the subject is very creative and interesting. One thing which i liked the most in the course is, real life applications of each and every topic in the course is also shown and explained. I recommend this course to all aspirants who are new to the subject since the course covers probability from the basic definition to more advanced topics.

von Richard C

Jul 13, 2017

It has been many years since I have seen any of this material and I struggled working through some old textbooks to familiarize myself with the material once again. This class really helped me refresh my memory and I actually believe I have a clearer understanding of the material than I did when I was in college. The professor did an excellent job engaging the viewer and made the material enjoyable and provided relevant examples that made it easier for the student to understand the bigger picture. I hope to see a second course on the same topic offered by this professor in the future!

von Pankaj S G

Dec 03, 2017

I could not answer few questions in high school final exams due my fear for probability. Professor Karl has really removed my fear and I want to invest more time now in learning more aspects about this. More importantly I could understand all the examples he has explained. Now I know the concepts Conditional probability, random variable and normal distribution. For me, no more, random variable is not just calling a 'rand()' function, normal distribution is no more a bell curve which just looks good and I have more regards for Excel as a tool to compute probabilities. Thanks.

von Rahul K

Oct 24, 2018

A really no-nonsense course that helped me reacquaint myself with the basics of probability. I found the Professor to be extremely knowledgeable, convivial and enthusiastic. Truly, the professor knew his probability. He was able to explain concepts with a childish ease and amazing flow. The course is also very well structured, transitioning from discrete random variables to continuous random variables seamlessly. Personally, I would love to attend more MOOCs conducted by this Professor. A very good course for beginners as well - not a lot of prior knowledge is required.

von Yris C

Mar 08, 2018

Awesome!

I'm not english-native, but still could totally understand it. Only touches the necessary detail. It is truly simplified and it did help me develop my intuitive probability skills with the "exact" amount of scientific "background" needed for me to apply it to my field. Now I feel I am capable of evaluating and prove my inferences, so I'm closer to a scientific probability than to a "paranormal" one. XD

I'm so proud of all this work you've done, grateful for your help and admired by how you managed to accomplish the maestry to teach it like this. Thanks a lot.

von Deleted A

Feb 16, 2017

Professor Schmedders succeeds in giving a very intuitive exposition of the basics of probability, eschewing most formulas while still covering many of the key concepts needed for studying probability and statistics. He has great enthusiasm for the material and injects just the right amount of humor into the course, so the lectures are never boring.

The course would serve as a good "taster" of what probability is all about for those unfamiliar with the subject, or as a warmup or refresher in preparation for more technical courses.

von Lokesh K

Feb 03, 2019

The most essential course on the fundamentals of probability theory with an amazing professor whose enthusiasm for teaching the concepts is irresistible and captivating. I literally loved this course so much so that my high-school dream of some-day fully grasping the real intuitive concepts of probability come true. Thank you very much Sir for teaching me this course. I have become a fan of you. Request you to offer some courses on the financial side aspects of the uncertainty and how best it should be managed.

von Gonzalo F V

Jul 11, 2020

Karl is amazing, and all the lectures are in a very intuitive order and very good explained. The course heavily relies on Excel, and even though I'm not an Excel fan, but instead I rather use Python for analysis, it was useful since the exercises are very good for better understanding the concepts with real world examples. I just skipped the specific parts of the videos talking about Excel formulas. Overall I would highly recommend this course for anyone needing a refresh of the basic concepts in probability.

von Donna K

Mar 19, 2020

Wonderful course! I've never been as fascinated with the subject of Probability as I am now. This has been a great starting point. I was quite sad to find out that Karl Schmedders has no other MOOC on Coursera. I would have taken them all. I'm now off to start other (slightly more advanced) Probability courses. Thank you, Karl and Jose! You are fantastic teachers. Learning from you was so much fun. There was never a dull moment. I cannot recommend this course highly enough.

von Gaurav K S

Apr 17, 2017

Excellent approach to explaining the theory. The emphasis on getting the fundamentals right was a welcome change from other similar courses which get into problem solving mode too soon without clarifying the basics. That being said the usage of multiple real world problems like Monty Hall, Prosecutor's Dilemma and the brilliant explanation for solutions helped me derive great clarity on key concepts. The best Coursera course I have encountered in a while.

von Olivio A C J

Jul 03, 2020

The course delivers what it promises, and quite well. It is not, as its name infers, a mathematical course. Professor Schmedders' explanations are very good and makes the classes very interesting to watch. It is an introductory course and is a good first step to go deeper in the theme in other courses. It was worth doing. Thanks a lot, professor Schmedders. I hope you can prepare other courses for us in the future. I loved your first course.

von Carlos L

Jun 11, 2020

The couse is well constructed, Karl and his TA explains in a very simple way and make use of how probability matters in famous real cases, from finance to law.

As its name indicates it's an introduction course, so do not expect advanced math concepts or probability. To gain a basic of overview of the subject is more than enough. Depending on your level it could be very basics or maybe you want to dig deeper in still basics math concepts.

von Lim J H

Jun 30, 2020

Thank you, Prof Schmedders and his team for preparing this course. Although the material is elementary, it is easy to get things very wrong in probability if we do not have good intuitive for it. This course has managed to conveyed the crucial fundamental required to grasp the concept of probability. Highly recommended to anyone who has difficulty understanding probability or just want to have some fun refreshing your knowledge of it!

von MANIKANDAN R

Oct 30, 2018

I am Mathematics Professor in an Engineering College in India. Karl and Jose are excellent. Karl show me a new way of teaching, and it is fun to learn. Since its a basic course I know the concepts, but still it is interest to learn. This course give me some refreshment in probability concepts. The title of the course and the content is superbly matching. Hats off to Karl, Jose. Salutes to Coursera for give me an opportunity like this.