Chevron Left
Zurück zu Moralities of Everyday Life

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Moralities of Everyday Life von Yale University

4.8
Sterne
2,006 Bewertungen
482 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

How can we explain kindness and cruelty? Where does our sense of right and wrong come from? Why do people so often disagree about moral issues? This course explores the psychological foundations of our moral lives....

Top-Bewertungen

AS

Jun 08, 2020

It was very informational and challenging in ones' own personal belief, thoughts, and ethical values. I would love to take a follow-up on additional courses. And Professor Bloom was very informative.

JE

Dec 19, 2017

Coming from undergraduate course Psychology, and with my paper about Generosity, this course has shared with me lessons that both strengthened and challenged my learnings on this topic of interest.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 480 Bewertungen für Moralities of Everyday Life

von Elise M L

May 06, 2020

Enjoyed the course immensely. Professor Bloom really is excellent! He provides entertaining lectures and is also quite funny. High quality overall, learned a lot. Highly recommended!

von Lisette W

May 16, 2019

I really liked this course. It is somewhat hard for me to judge the level of difficulty since it has been my first course on the subject. Professor Bloom is an engaging professor with a nice sense of humor. The readings are interesting and the videos are pleasant to watch due to Professor Bloom's enthusiasm. Though if you have read the articles parts of the videos made me less able to focus due to the repitition of the matter. Maybe the videos might dig deeper into the subject instead of repeating the content of the articles.

There is one point of real critism, hence the 4 star rating, and that is;

Week 3 and 4 contain links to articles which won't open. Error 404.

By googling the titles of the article it is possible to find them. Though these are New York Times articles and if you don't have a subscription or a free articles left it is not possible to acces them.

There are quiz questions related to these articles and it might influence your score.

Other than this it has been an interesting course and pleasant to watch.

Lisette Woest-Appeldoorn (The Netherlands)

von Tara G

May 05, 2020

Oh, how I wish I had copied what I wrote earlier. This course has been tremendous for me. Professor Bloom is so engaging, and the combination of his energy, knowledge, and range of topics touched-upon in the course were engaging, stimulating and inspiring. I will be fifty in August, and have wanted to return to some sort of academic endeavor since I graduated from law school, in 2001. I simply couldn't afford it, and I did not have the time - first, because I was practicing law, and then, because I was injured and then a cascade of medical issues followed (and still exist). I have not felt intellectually stimulated on this level for many years; and I have not felt both excited about delving into something truly educational and able to start and follow something important to me through to completion for a very long time. This course was fascinating, and touched upon areas I would not have thought a course on this subject matter would. The lecture by Laurie Santos was absolutely wonderful. The balance of philosophy and psychology; religion and politics; science and emotion; and more all presented a course that provided just enough of everything to leave me wanting to delve in further. I can honestly say that I will be ordering books from Professor Bloom, from Singer, and from others discussed during the course. I enrolled in Professor Bloom's "Introduction to Psychology" course (I used to represent psychiatric in-patients briefly, too briefly, in New York, and have wanted to return to working with the mentally ill for a very long time), and am just beginning the third week. It is not often that one comes across both a professor and subject matter that keep one engaged simultaneously. And for many like me, it is quite something to find someone like Professor Bloom, and to find a course, or a body of knowledge in any form, that can inspire so much, and in so little time. The benefit of a six-week course has been something that will have a lifelong effect. This is rather a more personal, perhaps emotional, review, than one discussing just the academia and what has been learned, in and of itself. To me, though, that speaks to how wonderful the course and the professor are have been. I am ever grateful.

von Aybüke İ

Jun 30, 2020

The ability to make formal inferences on a philosophical basis as well as a theoretical framework led me to different areas of research related to my field.

My interest in the relationship between psychiatric disorders, sociocultural acquisitions and moral systems has increased. Then I had the opportunity to evaluate in detail the evolutionary and existential mechanisms of moral statuses. Then I realized that my thoughts and curiosity began to change in response to the etiology and factors of this scheme. Do moral systems and moral judgments in evolutionary psychology have a relationship with neurobiology in psychological disorders? What are the criteria and determinants of this relationship, if any?

My acquisition of this question was through the vision of this course.

When I finished Disgust and Honor I and Disgust and Honor II, when I evaluated the research results and perspectives supported by scientific paradigms, I wanted to place and explore a different parameter in this relationship

Since I am going to do my master's degree in clinical psychology, I observed that the group where I can study moral systems and disgust behaviors in the clinic is OCD patients ... As a result of my literature study of antecedents, reaction sizes, distinguishing points and possible explanations that measure disgust behavior, I thought that there may be a certain relationship and difference in disgust behavior and imagery among ocd individuals with different moral systems.

This course has contributed greatly to me asking this question at this point.

I am very pleased with the theoretical and functional outlook you have presented.

Thank you very much for your efforts and valuable contributions.

My sincere thanks to Mr.Paul Bloom and the entire team.

von Anya J

Jul 06, 2020

This was not quite what I was expecting. Although I was expecting that the long videos and oral lectures would prevent me from sitting through all of this, it made no difference- the articles were fascinating and listening to Paul Bloom's reasoning and explanations was captivating, to the point where I was disappointed when the lectures would end. Overall, I think I would recommend this course to someone who wants to get a basic understanding of ethics and ethical decisions from a psychological perspective and not just philosophical. This does not revolve around religion and spirituality or one particular aspect of morality- though, it should be said, those are touched upon throughout this course.

He speaks of Peter Singer frequently throughout this course, so I should mention that there is another course on Coursera, "Effective Altruism" that others who enjoyed this may want to check out, too. Thank you for sharing this, Coursera, Yale, and all who contributed!

von Marc G

Jul 28, 2018

My sincerest congratulations to Dr. Bloom for delivering a course packed with rich content relevant to everyday life in a format that is at once stimulating but accessible. I loved the lectures and found them truly engaging -- one can readily tell Bloom is passionate about his discipline and eager to share what he knows. I really liked the idea of the office hours, too, and thought they were a great way of expanding on the foundations laid out in the curricular videos. I also liked the fact that Bloom quotes from so many authors and cites their books, as this gives students a chance to further investigate any topic of their interest using reputable sources. This is my 8th course on Coursera and it has been, by far, the most valuable!

von Fernando J R

Apr 30, 2020

I really enjoyed a lot the course. The depth of the concepts shown and explained was deep. All lectures and support material (videos, talks, articles) were very insightful and thought-provoking.

The approach is very unbiased, giving you different (and sometimes contradictory) arguments, for you to have different options, different points of view. I learned a lot and it sparked in me many spin-off interests.

This course is totally a 5 stars one.

The only very minor caveat is that some links seem to be broken due to the passage of time, but you can find new ones in the forums a/o by doing some simple online research.

Talking about forums, they are really great. You get to also learn a lot from multiple people.

von Eva A C

Apr 08, 2019

I've just completed week one. I really have to say, this course is SO accessible. I have a chronic mental deficiency (schizophrenia) that prevents me from understanding a lot of lectures (in speech form). This course provides (almost) accurate transcriptions of the lectures. Then you can highlight and save your notes straight from the course. TED Talks also provides a similar transcription section, which this course heavily relies on for me.

Paul Bloom is incredibly knowledgeable, not just in his field but in making sure EVERYONE has the ability to understand his lectures. I am very pleased with this course. It is a privilege to have the opportunity to learn in such an accessible way. Thank you.

von Erika P L

Apr 27, 2020

Ha sido un gran curso. Desafió buena parte de mis ideas, prejuicios, opiniones, reflexiones, actitudes, comportamientos sobre la moral. Creo que los conocimientos que aprendí resonarán de por vida en mí y son conceptos que debemos reflexionar todo el tiempo. Al mundo le urge gente positiva, gente de bien y gente que tenga una conciencia superior sobre los otros. Necesitamos escuchar más, respetar más, comprender más a los demás. Todos tenemos nuestras razones para actuar y pensar de la forma en que lo hacemos, pero lo más significativo sería abrir nuestra mente, cuestionarnos y pensar más antes de tomar decisiones trascendentales. ¡Gracias, profesor Bloom! ¡Gracias, Yale!

von Ned R

Apr 11, 2020

Prof. Bloom is engaging, and very knowledgeable in the psychological and philosophical views extant on the topic of human morality. He explains key concepts excellently, giving examples to make sure it's understood. The guest lecturers are all excellent. I was impressed with the psychologists who guest lectured, including Steven Pinker, Peter Singer, Jonathan Haidt and Sam Harris, all major contributors to the body of knowledge on the subject. I came away from the course with a fuller understanding of what makes us tick and the immediate reaction I have had is to look on my fellow man in a kinder way.

von Zeynep T

Jul 01, 2020

I think the course was excellent! I started taking this course when the COVID-19 pandemic quarantine started, and not only did it help me spend my time efficiently but also contributed to the development of my knowledge. I have always loved philosophy and learning new things in general, so this course will help you a lot if you are looking for new ways to broaden your horizons about topics that can definitely contribute to your self-growth. The readings were quite interesting, and I also think Professor Bloom is brilliant.

10/10 would recommend

von Soraya S

Aug 13, 2019

I enjoyed the course. It was well-arranged and well-discussed. Readings and videos were relevant and thought-provocative. I wish the curse was longer. Also, some of us chose not to have access to Facebook, Tweeter, and Instagram. Thereby, I had a hard time to locate a few articles. It answered some of my questions regarding peoples' conduct. More importantly, it put me on ease for the way I think and I fund common ground with the scientists and their research. Thank you for great work and for the opportunity.

von Debra M

Jul 01, 2018

I so enjoyed the lectures and readings in this course. I loved Paul Bloom's style of teaching, with examples from very intellectual sources as well as from television programs. I also enjoyed his humor. I liked being able to take the quizzes more than once so I could discover the errors in my thinking. I am a retired teacher on a fixed income and this was my first Coursera class. I will definitely take more and I wish to thank you for making them available to anyone who has access to a computer.

von Sohini B

May 21, 2017

It is a very interesting course. Prof. Paul Bloom successfully gives many intriguing arguments to explain morality from a psychological point of view. The added videos and readings also help us to understand the topic in hand and the various arguments for and against it. Another interesting feature of the course is the office hours. Here Prof Bloom discusses and answers the many interesting questions raised in the discussion forums. Overall a very enjoyable course!

von Huey N L

Apr 19, 2017

This course presents different moralistic views in a highly engaging, easy to understand, and most importantly - relevant manner. By linking different moral philosophies to our everyday lives, Professor Bloom shows us just why morals and ethics are so important to think about, and are not just theoretical philosophy that won't be put to good use. This course will make you wiser, a more critical thinker, and you'll have lots of fun doing it. 10/10 would recommend!

von Karthigeyan

Sep 21, 2017

This course was simply amazing. It was an eye opener in many ways. Thanks to the Professor who made the lectures as interesting as possible. Office hours was a nice way for the learners to know about professor's opinion about the queries. A special thanks to Laurie Santos for her lecture and the discussion. I could go on and on about this course. I am looking forward to the next lecture series either on the same subject or on a different subject from Paul Bloom.

von Christian D F

May 11, 2020

Es el primer curso online que realizo y la experiencia ha sido muy gratificante, el material ha sido bastante edificante y la estructura del curso bien lograda. Algo del material está pendiente a ser renovado o revisado puesto que, en el caso de las lecturas, varias han dejado de estar disponibles. El apartado de notas y el índice de trabajo de cada semana ayudan mucho. Los subtítulos también aunque es algo que falta en las lecturas. Mucha gracias.

von MARIA M

Aug 23, 2017

It was an excellent course and so much unconventional in every respect,It provided answers to questions and dilemmas that seem to grow within us but never had the chance to articulate or delve deeper into their real nature.I felt overwhelmed at times with the insight and knowledge the lectures provided.Professor P.Bloom is perfect in his approach , analysis and structure of the course.I only Greece wasn't that far away.........

von Ebony R

Apr 02, 2018

I have started quite a few courses on Coursera over the years but this is the first course that I have completed. I found the lectures to be engaging and thought-provoking and the outside readings to all be very interesting and applicable to what we're studying that week. The course felt well thought out and was put together nicely. I'm definitely interested in continuing with philosophy in general. This was a great start!

von Foca S M

Jul 12, 2019

If you’re fascinated by matters of good & evil and right & wrong, this course is a wonderful way to continue your education. It's short, it’s illuminating, and it’s done by one of the most influential psychologists of our time. Besides the course itself, you have access to plenty of interesting articles, alongside some of the best TED talks out there. Its knowledge might have the power to make you a better human being.

von Ebru C

May 27, 2020

Really good class. Professor Bloom has a lot of knowledge. It's 6 weeks and there is 1 quiz at the end of every week which is fair. I would suggest it to anyone who loves to learn about morals, facts, rights and wrong, philosophy, mostly. The professor is trying his best to bring the best human out of you as possible. I wish more people would get into this class and learn to make the world a better place.

von Dax M

Jul 09, 2020

Fantastic course, well taught with a great variety of examples and, as you might imagine, very thought provoking. Paul Bloom is a very 'mellow' presenter but that's a good thing for this program as it means his personal opinions don't create too much influence in areas designed to help one come to their own conclusions and make their own observation. I enjoyed this course very much!

von Diego B

Jun 09, 2020

I feel this course is a prefect introduction to the subject. It provides lots of different view points and materials.

I must say that professor Bloom is an excellent teacher, the lessons felt authentic and very clear. He certainly was able to express complex ideas in simple terms.

This course has allowed me to reflect on my own morality and all the factors that influences it.

von Chris

Jun 19, 2020

Fascinating overview of moral philosophy and psychology. Great readings and talks linked throughout! Explores the basics of consequentialism and deontology, introduces the five foundations of morality, and gets you thinking about the interplay between biology, the environment, and reason.

von MD. A M

Jun 12, 2020

A fascinating and insightful course. This course certainly had an strong impact on my view of different views around the world regarding morality and related matters. Thanks to Paul Bloom and others for putting this course together. I am very much looking forward to the next session.