Chevron Left
Zurück zu Feminism and Social Justice

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Feminism and Social Justice von University of California, Santa Cruz

4.8
Sterne
2,073 Bewertungen
569 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

"Feminism and Social Justice" is an adaptation of Distinguished Professor Bettina Aptheker's long-running course at UC Santa Cruz. In the course, Professor Aptheker presents a broad definition of feminism that serves to frame three significant events in the history of feminism and social justice: the Empire Zinc strike of 1951, the 1971-1972 trial of Angela Davis, and the #metoo Movement....

Top-Bewertungen

SS

Jun 23, 2020

Everyone should take up this course because this course has a structured curriculum for feminism. The idea of feminism is something we have learnt from media, one will come to know about the meaning.

IS

Feb 12, 2020

This course was very impactful, I now understand the history of rape as a crime, the attitudes that have diminished and undermine women's rights. I am hoping that we will get things right as a people

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 583 Bewertungen für Feminism and Social Justice

von Victoria W

Jul 19, 2020

This was such an awesome course. this is the first time I've used Coursera and it was so inspiring to be lectured by Bettina because of her involvement in the feminist movement. It was so great to hear her real, first hand experience along with facts of the cases. I also loved how she had specifically chosen cases which reflected intersectional feminism not the "white woman's feminism" story.

von Paloma A d O

Feb 02, 2020

This is a fundamental fantastic course that should be presented in every basic school, every company, to everyone and everywhere. I want to thank Prof. Aptheker for a wonderful curriculum and for explaining in a clear way the fundamentals of interesection-feminism. I would like very much to have an extended curriculum and would appreciate eve more if could include other worldwide examples.

von Olga L

Jul 24, 2020

A must for all students! this is one of those essential subjects (along with psychology and environmental studies) that should be taught in schools. because we have to learn this (be exposed to this knowledge so to speak) to provoke thought process that will ultimately result in a change. In more changes, very much needed. Not too overloaded material and yet succinct and to the point.

von Mahmudul H N

May 22, 2020

For the beginner i mean who do not have any knowledge about feminism and social Justice this course will be really really so helpful. The course was very interesting. Personally i have learned a lot of things. This course changed my mind about the concept of feminism and social Justice. Professor B. Aptheker's presentation, story telling method, analysis everything was so enjoyable.

von Mathx

Nov 03, 2019

I am trying to get the basics of Feminism correct - and this course helped me build a historical context of the movement. I found it very useful and even though the context is American (just an observation not a criticism) but there are so many paralells with the situation in my country. I guess all I can say is that it was perfect - and now I am looking for the next level

von Eike F

May 20, 2020

Thank you, this course was really interesting, eye opening and should be mandatory for everyone. It changed my view on Feminism completely, helped me understand where my difficulties were with it before (regarding ints interconnectedness with class, race and all other forms of oppression) and resulted in a much better historical understanding of how this all came about.

von Haley C

May 15, 2020

This course was so informative! I really appreciated that it provided an intersectional perspective on feminism and its history, and I learned about key events in more detailed ways than I'd heard about them previously. I would definitely recommend this class if you're interested In the history of feminism and how it connects to feminism and social justice today.

von MARÍA R G

May 31, 2020

Este ha sido uno de los cursos más interesantes que he realizado hasta el momento. No solo he aprendido con él sino que, como persona nacida en España los 90, he descubierto muchas etapas y casos de la lucha de la mujer que no conocía hasta el momento. Quizás se deba a que la lucha de los derechos de la mujer se limita al derecho a voto para la agenda educativa.

von Esther S C

Apr 18, 2020

Me ha parecido un curso súper interesante para ampliar mis conocimientos sobre Feminismo. Si eres una persona a la que le guste leer y conoces a Rebecca Solnit y su "Los hombres me explican cosas", verás que el curso es ideal para entrelazar ideas. Además, adoro que trate tantísimo el feminismo de forma interseccional, cosa que olvidan muchos otros académicos.

von Meaghan

May 23, 2020

This course was extremely inspiring. Bettina was amazing and I enjoyed the way she weaves her personal experiences and stories into her lectures. Very engaging and the materials were excellent! I'd highly recommend taking this course if you are interested in learning more about feminism and other social movements and the intersections of these concepts!

von Alice D

Jan 31, 2020

Amazing! This course really put the current feminism and social justice movements into a historical context for me and gave a really great overview but also insight into some of the theoretical framework. I really enjoyed Professor Aptheker's teaching, her personal stories and sensitivity. Thank you so much for sharing this important resource, respect.

von Theresa S

Apr 26, 2020

Very eye-opening and informative. Professor Aptheker is easy to follow and explains in great detail how feminism and social justice movements are intertwined. This course really makes you think about our society and how women have made such profound impacts and also sheds a light on the inequalities and disparities many women are still facing today.

von Ritika P

May 31, 2020

This course is a must for all people out there who want to get information about social justice and feminism its just a scratch on the surface but a much needed start up on the subject matter. Helps you form your own opinion based on actual life events. and the instructor Dr.Apthekar was really wonderful and amazing person who has inspired me.

von Rajdeep K

Jul 09, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the learning experience thanks to the wonderful way the spokesperson delivered the lectures. The empathy and cause behind the topic was well understood as the topics were aptly sorted to align towards helping students learn about the misshapenings and how to overcome injustice by coming forward together.

von Doreen M

Apr 19, 2020

Very insightful. all-encompassing approach to feminism: it's reach and it's impact on social justice.Helps one to think deeply and critically about the roles women are assigned and why and the value that they could add if they to be seen as equally human, therefore equally competent, equally ambitious and equally rewarded.

von Emma

Jun 14, 2020

This is a great starting point for anyone interested in learning more about Feminism. Each lecture is dedicated to understanding the social context and significance of key moments in the Feminist movement, and connects common themes of intersectionality and the historic oppression of women to each event. Highly recommend!

von María G

Jun 01, 2020

This is a course that everyone should take. It allows you to expand tha perspective you have about feminism and a lot of historical events. Not only that, but it is also an inspitation to continue raising our voices and work for the change we want to see in the world. We may can´t do everything, but we must do something.

von Umashankar S

Aug 03, 2020

As per me most of the students are not aware about the terms and movements of women of 20th century that led to mass movement and is still prevalent till today which has helped a lot to women to fight various forms of discrimination. Salt of the earth, Angela Davis case & metoo movement origins are explained here well.

von Maya S

Jul 05, 2020

Not only are the lecture videos engaging and really well done, the material explored is discussed at length so you have a really deep-seated knowledge of the subject matter. This course is meant for everyone, and I would highly recommend it. It is informative, and truly focuses on topics that should be common knowledge.

von Trinidad J

Aug 02, 2020

fue un curso muy interesante con un recorrido tanto cultural, racial y de género muy particular. Creo que logra ver distintas perspectivas de la discriminación tanto de género como su intersección con estos otros elementos para entregar una aproximación mucho más detalladas sobre las implicancias de la justicia social.

von Nerinette R

Jul 06, 2020

Feminism and Social Justice has been an insightful and awakening experience for myself. Ms. Bettina Aptheker is perfect for teaching Feminism and Social Justice because of her own personal experiences in the matter. I truly appreciate the exposure to events I had not heard of but will now continue to learn about.

von amy f

Apr 09, 2020

The course held my interest and gave a short and sweet overview on feminism and social justice issues. It provides context and background leading up to the current state of the oppression of women. I also think it's interesting that Pressor Aptheker has been personally involved in some of the movements discussed.

von Julia M

Jul 25, 2020

Bettina Aptheker is fantastic. Although this course is focused on feminism, Prof Aptheker brings a very strong intersectional angle as well. Her lectures are excellent and informed by not only her scholarly background, but her personal experience as an activist-scholar in key events like the Angela Davis trial.

von MADHUVADHANI M

Dec 25, 2019

The course "FEMINISM AND SOCIAL JUSTICE" provides a clear view about the various struggles and history of the feminist wave and social movement. Professor Aptheker, clearly explains all the aspects and the syllabus is also quite reasonable. This is a worthy course for people interested in feminist studies.