Chevron Left
Zurück zu Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know von University of California, Davis

4.6
1,155 Bewertungen
282 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Top-Bewertungen

ZM

Jul 18, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

SS

Jul 25, 2017

It helped me a lot to have a basic idea about different types of materials, processing and properties. I earned basic knowledge about materials and I can teach these relevant topics to students

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 275 Bewertungen für Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

von Ganeshraj

Dec 23, 2018

Excellent course to brush your basics. Thank you so much sir for making it simple and efficient.

von 付郁磊

Feb 14, 2019

pretty good, the professor deliver the lecture in a very vivid way and what really surprise me is that I can get so much knowledge from this short course.thank you, professor.

von C. A K Y

Sep 11, 2018

got to learn many things. cleared my basics

von Carlos H R

Sep 26, 2018

it helps a lot

von Eric E

Sep 13, 2018

Good course to refresh what was learned in college

von Jitendra C

Aug 12, 2018

Good

von MORRISRAJA P

Aug 15, 2018

very useful course and detailed explanation are given.

von BERTHING J G B

Sep 04, 2018

brought me, some good general ideas about enginering materials

von John K

Oct 18, 2018

Great class on materials and how crystal and atomic bonds lead to material properties. The chapter on semiconductors was new material for me and very valuable to introduce me to valence and conduction bands. The other material was good review for me as a Mech. Eng.

von John F S

Oct 17, 2018

Dr. Shackelford has a knack for explaining engineering principles well. Thank you!

von Maria E X d S

Oct 27, 2018

Is a great course to review topics related to materials engineering. I recommend for new graduates or for those who want to start college.

von Karthikeyan B

Oct 27, 2018

Thank you for the very useful course !

A must for Engineers associated with materials.

von Md Z S

Oct 28, 2018

simply the best

von Tiwari S R

Nov 16, 2018

great learning

nicely explained in a very shot span

von M.Natesh

Jul 19, 2018

It is easy to understand about material science for engineers.

von HungHui C

Oct 12, 2018

learn more knowledge

von Venkatesh N

Sep 19, 2018

Good topic to learn for mechanical enginners

von JACOB O O

Aug 08, 2018

This is one of the best course I have taken on Material Science! Down to earth explanatory, indeed every Engineer should know these basics. Thank you.

von Sayan B

Mar 03, 2017

The technique with which Dr. James Shakelford has taught this course is amazing

von Tamu S

Feb 22, 2016

I've done my Bachelor's in Mechanical Engineering in one of the best colleges in India, and yet this course makes me understand the roots of Material Science & Engg. better than my 4 years spent in college.

von Rishikesh G R

Jun 23, 2017

Great course as an introduction to the subject and while revising as it goes though all the important points.

von Darlan V B

Nov 25, 2016

The course gives a lot of good informations that engineers should know in the everyday life. The professor James Shackelford explain the subjects in a very clear and objective way with a lot of practical examples.

von Moez B

Jul 12, 2016

Excellent course on the basics of properties of materials. It is a well-designed, well-delivered course on the essentials in materials science. Thanks for a fun course.

von Ferchichi Y

May 08, 2017

Thank you for this interesting and very well presented course!

von yesung k

Nov 13, 2016

Fantastic course! I do hope that I would be able to learn from Professor Shackelford later on.