Chevron Left
Zurück zu Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know by University of California, Davis

4.6
1,051 Bewertungen
258 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Top-Bewertungen

ZM

Jul 18, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

PC

Mar 05, 2018

This course was alot more educational then I thought it would be but now I compare what has shaped me in in life to creep deformation. I especially loved the lecture " a play on good and evil".

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 of 251 Reviews for Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

von JACOB O O

Aug 08, 2018

This is one of the best course I have taken on Material Science! Down to earth explanatory, indeed every Engineer should know these basics. Thank you.

von Jitendra C

Aug 12, 2018

Good

von MORRISRAJA P

Aug 15, 2018

very useful course and detailed explanation are given.

von M.Natesh

Jul 19, 2018

It is easy to understand about material science for engineers.

von BERTHING J G B

Sep 04, 2018

brought me, some good general ideas about enginering materials

von HungHui C

Oct 12, 2018

learn more knowledge

von John K

Oct 18, 2018

Great class on materials and how crystal and atomic bonds lead to material properties. The chapter on semiconductors was new material for me and very valuable to introduce me to valence and conduction bands. The other material was good review for me as a Mech. Eng.

von John F S

Oct 17, 2018

Dr. Shackelford has a knack for explaining engineering principles well. Thank you!

von Eric E

Sep 13, 2018

Good course to refresh what was learned in college

von Venkatesh N

Sep 19, 2018

Good topic to learn for mechanical enginners

von Carlos H R

Sep 26, 2018

it helps a lot

von C. A K Y

Sep 11, 2018

got to learn many things. cleared my basics

von Maria E X d S

Oct 27, 2018

Is a great course to review topics related to materials engineering. I recommend for new graduates or for those who want to start college.

von Karthikeyan B

Oct 27, 2018

Thank you for the very useful course !

A must for Engineers associated with materials.

von Md Z S

Oct 28, 2018

simply the best

von SHUBRAJIT B

Apr 25, 2016

It was a good learning experience.

von Daya S D

Sep 16, 2016

Well designed . I especially like the way Prof is explaining stuffs with very ease.

von Navneet Y

Aug 28, 2016

I really enjoyed this course!! Thanks.

von Jamie S

Jul 11, 2017

An excellent short introduction to materials science for engineers. If you haven't already read Shackleford's textbook, this video lecture series would be an excellent primer.

If you have recently studied undergraduate materials science or engineering then you will not need this course as it doesn't have time to delve too deeply into the theory. However, if you are like me and a few years out of education, it's an excellent albeit brief recap of materials and failure modes. It's possible to binge at 2x speed and complete this series in a day.

von Ángel A B

May 30, 2016

Great course to review the topic of materials. I am currently working as a mechanical engineer and it has helped me to refresh the fundamental concepts covered during my degree. The material is presented in a clear way and I think this is a good approach to the subject.

von Mikhail K

Jan 22, 2016

Excellent intro to Materials Science. The course covers the fundamental concepts such as yield stress, tensile strength, ductility and toughness without getting too involved in complex formulas. I have a background in mechanical engineering and found this course to be a good review of materials course I took in University.

von Gao R

Jan 17, 2016

Very concentrative! The teacher demonstrates the basic concept and acknowledge that every engineer should know. Very impressive. Thanks!

von ManasSalunke

Jan 14, 2017

Helps you improve your knowledge about the metallurgical concepts.

von yashar k s

Jan 01, 2016

Best

von Zainul

Dec 10, 2015

Nice, this is by far my most exciting course, i am only 17 and in my country i don't learn a wide range of science in my syllabus. This helps me understood a lot.