Chevron Left
Zurück zu Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know von University of California, Davis

4.6
1,157 Bewertungen
282 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Top-Bewertungen

ZM

Jul 18, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

PC

Mar 05, 2018

This course was alot more educational then I thought it would be but now I compare what has shaped me in in life to creep deformation. I especially loved the lecture " a play on good and evil".

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 275 Bewertungen für Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

von Juan T

Nov 14, 2016

Exceptionally beneficial to the fundamental principles of engineering. I highly recommend taking this course as it is informative and simple to understand.

von Kashif S Q

Jan 21, 2017

Thank you sir for teaching in such a different and unique way. The way you teach is indeed very unique and it always kept me attentive during your lecture. Now i have understand all those concepts in a more better way and i am certain that this will help me in my future carrier as a material engineer. Thank you Sir

von Diego C

Jun 08, 2017

Fue un exelente curso se ha sido de mucha ayuda en mi carrera gracias.

von Neha D

Jul 24, 2017

Great explanation of all the concepts!

von Darragh M

Sep 03, 2017

Good overall refresher on Materials Science for a Mech Engineer

von SHREYAS P

Apr 15, 2018

A very good course to learn the basics of material science

von Ismail H B

May 30, 2017

The general contents of the course are very satisfying. The connections between units (i.e. things) are very good and consecutive. Each topic has a connection with at least another one. Everything starts with Arrhenius and ends with Arrhenius. I appreciate Prof. James Shackelford for establishing such a connection throughout the course which makes whole subject fully understandable. However there were some numerical problems on some quiz of things (units). These numerical problems are so simple but there were not any example that shows the method how to interpret these problems to solve though. The trainee is supposed to solve these problems from the given equations. But it is sometimes hard to realize how to use the formula practically if one is not directly working on this specific subject. The other thing is about the semiconductor subject in where the n doped extrinsic semiconductors and the donor electrons with the energy level close to the conduction band are explained very good. Whereas there is no information about the p doped extrinsic sc's and acceptor holes with the energy level close to the valance band. Of course this course is about the material science and does not contain the electronics subject which is related with the electron flow under certain electric field. But I wish I saw the p-n junction with associated Fermi diagrams and how it shows the valve characteristics to the electrons under certain conditions of electric field. But anyway I got so many things that I need and I appreciate for these.

von Paolo M

May 31, 2017

It has been a good opportunity to refresh and reorganize items studied at university. Well clear lessons allowed me to understand every word, although subtitles were not always correct. I suggest this course to everyone who wants to refresh his knowledges in material science.

von Mahmoud S K

Mar 29, 2018

I think it will be better if you get deep in the content

but the course is very good and the instructor is very simple

von Ritu T

Jun 16, 2018

Great course content , the professor has done a great job . Thank u

von Meetkumar J P

Apr 04, 2017

Thank you for giving me excellent information on material science.It is very helpful course for me. Thank you University of California,Davis and coursera.

von Nishant C

Jul 23, 2017

The entire course is very well planned and advances very systematically. It has been of very help in strengthening my practical as well as theoretical knowledge.

von Gideon P v Z

Aug 03, 2017

Informative

von Swapnil K

Dec 17, 2017

Very good course as a recall for Material Science 101. Thank you Mr. James Shackelford.

von Meet D

Feb 19, 2017

Nice course,

And give some extra benefit to the engineer.

von Mohammed H

Sep 23, 2017

I honestly think this course was very useful and a good refreshment of my material science knowledge. Hence I gave it 5 stars. However, I was going to give it 4 due to the fact that I really did not understand the last 2 things : eutectoid ; martensite and austenite relationships (thing 9) and the semiconductor part (thing 10).

I still gave it 5 stars because I really do not want to blame the course for me not understanding.

Good course in general and I am glad I was able to complete it.

von Tavone S

Feb 19, 2018

This course was very helpful, as a up-coming student for material engineer I gained a enormous amount of useful information to help me progress though me first year of college. Thanks for the basic understanding of Material Science.

von RAKESH K

Jun 04, 2017

very good course

von Stavros D

Mar 15, 2016

It's been a great ride so far. I wish I was able to do a lab and experiment with the material we learn.

von Danial T

Feb 18, 2018

Great for aspiring materials engineers to brush up on their basics

von Muhammad A S

Dec 25, 2016

GOOD COURSE FOR A QUICK REVIEW OF ENGINEERING STUDY

von Akshay T

Nov 11, 2017

An overall a good learning experience with great explaination.

von Lee X H

May 30, 2017

Learnt a lot. Thank You!

von SREEKANTH M S

Jul 25, 2017

It helped me a lot to have a basic idea about different types of materials, processing and properties. I earned basic knowledge about materials and I can teach these relevant topics to students

von German S P

Mar 06, 2018

great way to introduce ones self to any field of engineering...