Chevron Left
Zurück zu De-Mystifying Mindfulness

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für De-Mystifying Mindfulness von Universiteit Leiden

4.8
860 Bewertungen
314 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Interest in meditation, mindfulness, and contemplation has grown exponentially in recent years. Rather than being seen as mystical practices from ancient Buddhism or esoteric philosophy, they are increasingly seen as technologies rooted in evidence from psychology and neuroscience. Mindfulness has become the basis for numerous therapeutic interventions, both as a treatment in healthcare and as a means of enhancing well-being and happiness. For millions around the world, mindfulness has become a life-style choice, enhancing and enriching everyday experience. Mindfulness is big business. But, what actually is mindfulness? Is it really good for you? Can anyone learn it? How can you recognize charlatans? Would you want to live in a mindful society, and would it smell like sandalwood? What does it feel like to be mindful? Are you mindful already, and how would you know? Evolving from the popular Honours Academy course at Leiden University, this innovative course combines conventional scholarly inquiry from multiple disciplines (ranging from psychology, through philosophy, to politics) with experiential learning (including specially designed ‘meditation labs,’ in which you’ll get chance to practice and analyze mindfulness on yourself). In the end, the course aims to provide a responsible, comprehensive, and inclusive education about (and in) mindfulness as a contemporary phenomenon. During the production of this course, we have been supported by Willem Kuyken, Director of the University of Oxford Mindfulness Centre, and Stephen Batchelor, co-founder of Bodhi College. And we gratefully acknowledge the contributions made by Mark Williams, co-developer of Mindfulness-based Cognitive Therapy (MBCT), and Rebecca Crane, Director of the Centre for Mindfulness Research and Practice at the University of Bangor....

Top-Bewertungen

AL

Nov 02, 2017

Awesome!\n\nLots of valuable theory, which includes uncovering fears and doubts. And the most important: practice. You can learn meditation here, and truly understand why the hell it's so important.

VK

Feb 07, 2019

An excellent MOOC course with in-depth exploration of the mindfulness concept, with interviews of experts in the field and critical appraisal of the subject matter. I loved the course !

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 308 Bewertungen für De-Mystifying Mindfulness

von Helen P

Jun 02, 2017

Really enjoyed this course. It was presented very well, and there was plenty of interesting content. The idea of running the 8 week mindfulness practice programme alongside a more academic look at the implications of mindfulness in the modern world was very effective.

von Virat M

Nov 03, 2017

What a fantastic course for anyone trying understand mindfulness in its various interpretations. It was both intellectually stimulating as well as practically enriching. Not only have I grown by leaps and bounds in my own current meditation practice, but it has left me hungry for more. Has it managed to demystify mindfulness for me? No!! but that is the fantastic thing about this subject..it never seems to end...and hence I wish this course could have gone on and on!

I will miss Chris Goto-Jones and his wise lectures and I therefore finish this course, with a twinge of sadness as well as joy for having been part of this magnificent experience.

von Learner I

Jan 18, 2017

Excellent course. Extremely well organized and prepared with top notch content, videos and other resources. I audited this course and it met my expectations!

von Everaldo C d S

Aug 01, 2017

The course was lovely and precise

von Flavia L

Apr 03, 2018

Absolutely great course. Thank you Goto-Jones & Team!

von Chan S W

Feb 11, 2017

The course is very insightful and organized. The workload for week 2 to 4 may be a bit heavy if you are working full-time... But going through all the materials 'mindfully' and not in a rush is well worth it.

von Rohit R

Jan 01, 2018

Just wonderful!

von Eleonora m

Dec 05, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this course as it provided me with directions on how to practice mindfulness; the guided meditations are so valuable. I am grateful to Chris (the teacher) for his understanding, compassion and empathy. I did struggle to juggle videos, assignments, practice, my full time job, kid, dog, various accidents but I was encouraged by the understanding and support of the teacher. I have tried many times to finish a courser but always failed, this is the first time i have managed completion and I am so grateful for what the course has given to me: real support, understanding,

von Pablo S S

Jan 03, 2017

Simply fantastic. An insightful integration of psychology, philosophy and sociology taught by a wise and down-to-earth professor.

von Greg S

Dec 31, 2016

Lots of great material. A good place to start for those new to mindfulness and an opportunity to broaden and deepen one's practice for more long-term practitioners. A variety of religious and secular perspective are covered, both current and historical, with a view toward ethics and practical application. The perspective presented is unbiased and encourages independent thinking, self-analysis and reflection. It was well worth the time I invested and I intend to continue referring back to the notes I have made as well as the resources that have been provided throughout the course. I look forward to more from Prof. Goto-Jones in this area!

von Hal H

Jan 10, 2017

I enjoy the considerate, compassionate, and overall intellectual approach this course takes the student on, and appreciate the overall structure of this course. The instructor of this course is intriguing and immensely well spoken; I feel like I'm enhancing my understanding on vocabulary as well a this topic with each lecture. I look forward to completing this course and using my new found knowledge moving forward in life. Thankful there are facilitators/professors like this man!

von Krzysztof A

Oct 03, 2017

This course is great, it really explains a lot about mindfulness and if you want to try meditation and mindfulness, the meditation guidance included in this course opens a completely new and wonderful world for you. Starting this course was one of the things I did to reduce the level of stress I felt at the time. I can say it worked for me, maybe it will also work for you?

von Otto S

Oct 25, 2016

The course is clear, to the point and open to bring in your own thoughts. You are supposed to be an active member, answering questions and reacting to others. You can follow the course without that, but it is very rewarding to read what the exercises mean to others. You go through a lot of material in a few weeks - it need not take very much time, but it means a lot.

von Stephan S

Oct 15, 2017

Great course to get a well-rounded view of what mindfulness is and is not, its roots, its present influence and its possible future.

von Cynthia R M

Sep 09, 2017

Excellent course! well explained and they give you good material to work with.

von Anna C

Jul 04, 2017

It's an amazing and very complete course for those who are interesting in learn what mindfulness is, how to introduce it to our lives. It addresses benefits, concerns that people might have and a lot of important facts. I recommend it very much.

von Betty

Jun 08, 2017

I found really good

von Santiago E

Mar 07, 2017

The course is amazing. It offers a wonderful balance between the theoretical and practical aspects of mindfulness and meditation.

von Xavier E

Jan 11, 2018

Wonder

von Mulessh B

Mar 24, 2017

I enjoyed studying this course. The video lectures of Dr Gotto-Johns very interesting but at times he was too soft spoken; needing extraordinary attention to grasp its content. Also, found the course a bit dry and somewhat difficult. While some notes were provided, there is a need to do a proper study of the subject. A book was promised by the Profesdor which I look forward to receiving. Actually, for all courses, I feel it will be a great help to all students, particularly those who can not afford costly books, COURSERA offers free or substantially discounted books on the subject taught.

I completed Memory related course UNDERSTANDING MEMORY: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies 🎥. The professor who presented this course offered his book Memory and Movies at 30% discount and even provided link with Discount code. As I liked the course, I tried to purchase this book but I got a reply from MIT Press that either to discount scheme is over or has not started so they CAN NOT offer it.!!

I was very disappointed 😔 that despite COURSERA being such a big and professional body, such gaffes takes place. You may please address this and then let me know if I can buy at a low price.

von Bhagya D

Jun 27, 2017

Good and useful course.

von Antonio S

Jan 02, 2017

It was a very easy to follow, deep and challenging course. I really enjoyed it!

von Keri A B

Mar 23, 2018

Stunning start to finish: Examination of principals and practices. Methods and discussions. Downloadable guides. Personal reflections.

Extraordinarily well presented; lectures given are interesting, well written, speaker is easy to listen to; pleasant voice rhythm and cadence; graphics enhance understanding in a unique and fun way. Occasional guest interviews give a deeper understanding.

What I learned from this course I will use throughout my whole life. More than a class, an amazing experience.

The whole package is perfect; the right amount of everything. So much dedication was in place to produce this, the quality is top notch. I enjoyed it so much I may take this class again!

von Alexandra M D

Oct 29, 2016

Love it!

von Anthony S B

Aug 13, 2017

Excellent!! help us to mastery ourselves